Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2014, 08:11 PM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

So i saw there was an 11.2 update so i held off posting until I got the latest version, as it said it fixed some mastermeter spiking...


Has anyone else been seeing their processors at 30-40%, and getting intermittent 100% spikes, that cause drop outs? It then drops back to 45% and everything's fine, and then 5 seconds later, jumps back up to 100% and then back to nothing, over and over again. It's driving me nuts! Didn't start happening until the last few updates this year..

2.5ghz core2quad, 16 gigs ram, dedicated firewire card... i've got the horsepower.

Suggestions?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2014, 08:27 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I just started using Protools 11 and have been experiencing exactly what you've described above. I'm on Mountain Lion 10.8.5 with an early 2013 Retina MBP and the CPU spikes cause error messages when playing back the demo song session that comes with Protools 11. Everything plays fine in PT 10. The other thing I've noticed is that one of the 8 cores available to Protools is spiking significantly more than the others in the system usage window. In my particular case, this happens to be the 4th core. Adjusting the recording buffer in Protools does not make a difference. The spikes can happen even when there is no audio playing and the transport is completely stopped.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2014, 12:18 AM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

What could be causing this… Certain plugins in certain orders.

I found months ago after moving all my plugins one by one that with HD Native any Sound Toys Plugin placed after NI Massive causes Cpu spikes with literally nothing else in the session.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mr5egdq8lq...undToys_NI.png

So try deactivating your plugs one by one and see if it stops. If so you know which one it is.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2014, 12:32 AM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyrock View Post
drops back to 45% and everything's fine, and then 5 seconds later, jumps back up to 100% and then back to nothing, over and over again
BTW. That's exactly what mine was doing until I moved all my NI Massive processing to Aux tracks and bused there. It's just ST and Massive that don't get along. My test was only with HD Native.

I've also seen similar with Waves Gate placed before Sugar Bites WOW2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2014, 02:06 AM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I am definitely using ST's microshift ... I will look into that! Stinks too, cause they just released an update and it didn't fix it there either.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2014, 02:26 AM
bluemoa bluemoa is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cali-forni-ca
Posts: 18
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumster View Post
I just started using Protools 11 and have been experiencing exactly what you've described above. I'm on Mountain Lion 10.8.5 with an early 2013 Retina MBP and the CPU spikes cause error messages when playing back the demo song session that comes with Protools 11. Everything plays fine in PT 10. The other thing I've noticed is that one of the 8 cores available to Protools is spiking significantly more than the others in the system usage window. In my particular case, this happens to be the 4th core. Adjusting the recording buffer in Protools does not make a difference. The spikes can happen even when there is no audio playing and the transport is completely stopped.
It happens to me with Melodyne and Sansamp PSA-1 plug-in in PT 10 and PT 11.2 and 11.1.3. It was working fine until I upgraded from os x 10.9.2 to 10.9.4 as well as the latest PT versions. It was working well before that. Pretty lame, serves me right for trying to update something that wasn't broke.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2014, 12:19 AM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyrock View Post
I am definitely using ST's microshift ... I will look into that! Stinks too, cause they just released an update and it didn't fix it there either.
At least you can toggle the analog mode without issue and the midi sync update is VERY welcome. Tremolator was driving me nuts every time it past a meter change.

But ya, No Cpu issue fix. I've been talking to someone there about it though. So they do know.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2014, 12:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,480
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

10.9.4 isn't supported yet. Hopefully I heard the rumors right and the 11.2.1 maintenance release is right around the corner.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2014, 05:18 AM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

So it's even across Windows and Mac, cause I'm on Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2014, 09:21 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I have exactly the same thing happening. Every few seconds, for no reason the CPU would hit 100%, Protools would drop out then the CPU would go back to around 36%. Then a few seconds later, the same thing.

I managed to track it down to VCC Mixbuss (VST), through Patchwork.
As soon as I made all the instances of that inactive it stopped spiking. I have the VCC channels all over the place and they seem to fine. Only the Mixbuss.

Through an instance of Satson Mixbuss in it's place and all seems to be ok so far.

Interestingly enough though, it seemed to happen more when tracks were soloed.

Might be worth trying that.

Rosco.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spikes - what are they? Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-14-2011 04:01 PM
What usually causes CPU spikes? JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-25-2010 05:47 PM
CPU spikes with 003 Bill Mellow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-25-2010 05:37 AM
cpu spikes gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-11-2007 05:21 PM
Uh Oh, spikes ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2002 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com