Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-19-2014, 11:25 AM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 339
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I am on Win 8.1 and I experience CPU spiking if I do not run PT 11 as administrator. That might not be the root of the issue, but it makes the spiking stop on my system.
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2020.5 | HD Omni | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe card | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-19-2014, 12:10 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

PT 11.1 and 11.2? Just win 8.1 or 8.0 also?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-19-2014, 01:54 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,482
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

11.2 spikes on OSX as well. Hopefully 11.2.1 is right around the corner and fixes this...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-28-2014, 02:17 PM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

so i finally took the time to go through all my plugins on this session, one by one. you know what was doing it?

ELEVEN. i'm using it on all my guitar tracks, so we're looking at 6-8 instances.


An avid plug in. so now i'm going to have to bounce down all the guitars i guess. man that's annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:05 PM
writeroxie writeroxie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 129
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

Oh man, this has been my nightmare all week! I'm running 11.2 on a 3,1 MacPro 10.8.5. Sometimes it's the first time I hit play after opening a session, error 6101 (system spikes to 100%) then it runs fine after that. Also have had it spike after being open for an hour+ and boom! CPU spikes and error message. I can't trace it to a particular plug. Although when I tried to open an instance of Eleven yesterday (for the first time ever), it full on crashed Protools and the report problem window popped up.

This is driving me nuts. I guess there is some slice of solace knowing I'm not the only one.

In another thread someone pointed out that I may've caused this by installing PT11 before 10 (which I did). Can anyone confirm or deny that they've done the same?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:08 PM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I don't play the "PT11 and PT10" game, so i don't have PT10 installed on my computer, and am having this problem. i wouldn't bank on that thought, personally.


I thought i had it running in administrator mode, but i had to recheck it, when i get time again to finish this stupid album on Friday i'll see if the spikes have stopped for longer than a few minutes. thanks for that idea!


it doesn't start up immediately, just after i've been working for about a couple minutes. i was able to restart and bounce down before it started up last night.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:27 PM
benherron.rrr benherron.rrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: York
Posts: 163
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

I've noticed this on my nMP, whilst I've been testing I noticed my CPU going from a calm 8% usage to 83% and back down, it doesn't crash the system just creates the odd click.

Apologies in advance for this rather nooby comment, but, I never knew the order of plugins in the folder mattered, why is this? Also, (appart from stock plugs) I use Waves, NI, EW Play and BFD3 plugs, if anyone has any experience or knows if the order of these vendors can cause problems could you let me know? I am currently experiencing problems with BFD3.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:29 PM
kilroyrock kilroyrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

no worries, i've been working with pro tools for 11 years, and other than for an effect (comp > eq vs eq > comp for example), i've never known of any reason.

there are no dumb questions, we all want to make music!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:35 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,032
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by benherron.rrr View Post
I've noticed this on my nMP, whilst I've been testing I noticed my CPU going from a calm 8% usage to 83% and back down, it doesn't crash the system just creates the odd click.

Apologies in advance for this rather nooby comment, but, I never knew the order of plugins in the folder mattered, why is this? Also, (appart from stock plugs) I use Waves, NI, EW Play and BFD3 plugs, if anyone has any experience or knows if the order of these vendors can cause problems could you let me know? I am currently experiencing problems with BFD3.
I don't think it's the order in the plugin folder itself but the order of use in a PT track. NI and EW Play haven't presented an issue but the newly released Sampletank 3 can be a cpu nightmare on some patches. And don't get me started on BFD3 (as a certain redneck philosopher would say that can best be described as having the word 'cluster' in it).

But getting back to the order of plugins on an insert I wonder if a plugin does some kind of lookahead processing is what's causing the issue? LIke maybe use that kind of plugin after all others on an insert and things will work okay? Seems logical.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-29-2014, 03:12 PM
writeroxie writeroxie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 129
Default Re: 11.1 and 11.2... still getting CPU spikes?!

One thing I noticed about the frequency of this behavior... When I opened older sessions (.ptf files) in 11, the spikes would happen sooner and more frequently. When initially saving these sessions while in PT11, it would of course prompt me to save as a PTX file. I did that. Now when I opened the sessions as .ptx in PT11, I'd still encounter the spikes, but far less often. I then thought maybe if I "save copy in" creating a completely new session folder etc, that could help. And I think it may have. During a 10 hour day, I only encountered about 4 spike moments. Maybe that was a random streak of good luck though.

I did notice that after the spikes settled (hovering back down around 24%) if I moved my mouse on the screen (not clicking, just moving it slightly) it'd spike back to 100%. Then once I stopped moving, it'd settle. Same thing over and over.

The remedy after these spike fits, was to close the session and reopen. All was fine after that (until the next CPU overload of course).

I don't know if we can blame plugins or plugin order in the insert list. My sessions would hum along at 25%, then out of the blue (after NO changes) SPIKE! Error 6101.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spikes - what are they? Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-14-2011 04:01 PM
What usually causes CPU spikes? JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-25-2010 05:47 PM
CPU spikes with 003 Bill Mellow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-25-2010 05:37 AM
cpu spikes gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-11-2007 05:21 PM
Uh Oh, spikes ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2002 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com