Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2013, 06:17 AM
benherron.rrr benherron.rrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: York
Posts: 163
Default Strange PT11 computer usage problem

Hi guys,

I've been having a little problem with PT11 using all of my computers resources which causes crashes when it should have no trouble running.

When I open a session in Pro Tools I have noticed that my RAM usage hits the ceiling, it slowly climbs up to 98% of my 8GB even when it has no reason to. I have opened a new session and added a single instrument track with an instance of East Wests Pianos. What it unusual is that back in PT10 I could happily load multiple virtual instruments and the 4GB of RAM handled them all with ease, now in PT11 I load one instrument and my computer cant take it, this causes crashes and CPU error messages (even though the CPU usage is around 2%) and eventually the audio playback becomes rather glitchy. I am unsure why PT is acting this way. I am on PT 11.0.2, windows 7 pro running through an Mbox pro. 8gb RAM and an i7 940.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2013, 06:58 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,397
Default Re: Strange PT11 computer usage problem

It's hard to say what is going on without knowing more about your system. Please take a look at the following thread and post a Sandra report if possible.

Help us help you

PT10 was a 32 bit application, which was limited to 4 Gig of RAM, so it's no surprise that your memory usage stopped there. PT11 is 64 bit, which allows the program to use more than 4 Gig. So, you may of had issues with 10 as well, but they just didn't show up until 11.

Please post your system info and we can go from there.

Thanks,
Will
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 CPU usage not even CLOSE to what was advertised Intransit Pro Tools 11 19 12-22-2013 02:04 PM
buffer settings in PT11 vs cpu usage musicman691 Pro Tools 11 0 10-11-2013 06:23 AM
PT11 cpu usage metering musicman691 Pro Tools 11 14 07-08-2013 04:26 AM
Plugins,strange cpu usage, please help me Alessio alecos macOS 0 10-15-2012 02:23 AM
CPU usage problem with 001...very strange MeAlien27 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-30-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com