Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1321  
Old 08-29-2013, 03:58 AM
Brahamnesik Brahamnesik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 154
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post

Another bad analogy. Did Avid promise us the driver? Did you pay for this new driver to work with Pro Tools 11?

Unfortunately, they don't owe us anything otherwise you could fight to get your money back.

While I disagree with their decision, we can't argue that they are required to write this driver. We just want them to.
No offense but I think you are completely wrong. When you buy a pretty expensive unit designed to work ONLY with Pro Tools the company should do everything to make it work as long as technically possible with the only compatible software. If not what's the point investing in their units on the long run?

It's not like trying to use a PCI card on a PCIe slot or whatever, it's just a piece of software that for some reason they don't want to provide. Period.
Reply With Quote
  #1322  
Old 08-29-2013, 08:07 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 935
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

So this Ebayer has been trying to sell this 1st gen Icon for a while now..

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digidesign...item4ac89ab555

Anyone know how much longer before it's unsupported out of curiosity?
__________________
A Rig: OSX 10.15.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.1, Native PCI-e Card, AVID I/O16 Analog i/o x2, 40 fader D-Command ES

B Rig: OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID192D+ 2xPresonus FS8 for I/o, 32 fader Pro Control

C Rig: (Home/Office). OSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate2020.11.0, Focusrite 2i2 (2nd Gen), Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #1323  
Old 08-29-2013, 09:21 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 524
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
Either way we're getting off topic. My apologies.
Yea I'm waiting for my weekly report from Kenny on the driver situation.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #1324  
Old 08-29-2013, 09:25 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Off topic nothing - this thread is officially in the not serious conversation land for a few hundreds posts now

This is gear sluts territory now :)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #1325  
Old 08-29-2013, 09:36 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 524
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
So this Ebayer has been trying to sell this 1st gen Icon for a while now..

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digidesign...item4ac89ab555

Anyone know how much longer before it's unsupported out of curiosity?
end of 2014
Reply With Quote
  #1326  
Old 08-29-2013, 11:58 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post

This is gear sluts territory now :)
AKA "The Audio Red Light District"
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #1327  
Old 08-29-2013, 03:59 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahamnesik View Post
snip.... When you buy a pretty expensive unit designed to work ONLY with Pro Tools the company should do everything to make it work as long as technically possible with the only compatible software. If not what's the point investing in their units on the long run?

It's not like trying to use a PCI card on a PCIe slot or whatever, it's just a piece of software that for some reason they don't want to provide. Period.
A perfect summary of the facts.
Reply With Quote
  #1328  
Old 08-29-2013, 04:40 PM
Tom Graham's Avatar
Tom Graham Tom Graham is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1995
Location: Pasadena,CA
Posts: 412
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Hello to our loyal Pro Mixing customers…

We can’t thank you enough for making Pro Tools and Avid Pro Mixing consoles and control surfaces your choice for audio production. But if you’re a Control|24 or ProControl owner, there are a few things we want you to be aware of.

As many of you have noted, we did not release Control|24 or ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11. We’re sorry if this has impacted you and your plans to upgrade to Pro Tools 11 or Pro Tools|HDX. We would love to support all hardware forever, but the technology in these control surfaces is over 12 years old, and the time it would take to develop and thoroughly test firmware upgrades to meet current Pro Tools performance specifications would severely impact our ability to ship products and deliver the new feature innovations.

We released Control|24 in January 2001 and had a final sale date in December 2007, at which time we announced that we would support it for five more years. Since its original release with Pro Tools 5.1, we have supported Control|24 through 139 versions of Pro Tools—45 of which came after we stopped selling the surface (and not with a trivial amount of effort). ProControl had even more support since its release with Pro Tools 4.2 back in June 1998.

Both control surfaces still work with Pro Tools up through the latest 10.x version which can run co-installed side by side with Pro Tools 11 (Pro Control is officially supported up through PT8).

To my knowledge, we are one of the only manufacturers of technology hardware that offers its customers an upgrade path to newer hardware. We currently offer Control|24 owners the opportunity to move up to C|24 for $6,399 retail—a $3,600 discount off the retail price. We will honor this same upgrade opportunity and pricing to our ProControl customers.

Thank you for your support and understanding.
Tom & Avid Pro Audio Team
__________________
Tom Graham
Avid Audio Marketing
Pro Audio and Mixing

tom.graham@avid.com

Check out our Pro Mixing Webinars :
http://www.avid.com/US/resources/pro-mixing-webinars

Avid Pro Mixing Blog:
http://www.avidblogs.com/promixing/
Reply With Quote
  #1329  
Old 08-29-2013, 05:16 PM
scotsman scotsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Thank you Tom for your post, unfortunatley it won't make me spend twice the price of other PT users to upgrade my PT10 HD2 system with my Control 24 to a HDX system. To jump from one unsupported controller system to another which will be likewise dumped in a few years is frankly thinking we were born with more than a little bit missing!!

When many of us have build our studios around our centre piece controllers a C24 just is a retrograde step and I would think that that from Pro Control owners the feeling might be just a bit stronger!!

What you have done with the Control 24 and Pro Control users is shown that all your controllers have a finite life of about 10 years from release for updates. When you consider the investment required over this period many will choose not to invest, is this really the message you wanted to communicate. Sounds that you have just killed many potential sales just because you won't produce 2 64 bit drivers, so to save a few dollars you have lost ten of thousands.

It's a hard message in reply, but I hope you understand the strong feeling, the financial mountain is just too great for the miminal improvement.

cheers Scotsman
Reply With Quote
  #1330  
Old 08-29-2013, 05:59 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,579
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Can any owners of currently-supported controllers (eg. D-Command, C|24, HUI, etc etc) confirm that they were forced to update their firmware when they first launched Pro Tools 11?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 06:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 05:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 11:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com