Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:46 AM
benherron.rrr benherron.rrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: York
Posts: 163
Default Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

Hi guys,

I cannot update from 10.0.1 to 10.2, I am assuming that since 10.2 is a separate installer that I need to uninstall PT in order for me to install the update (at least, that is what I have read). The problem is that I cannot uninstall my existing version of PT, nor the Hd drivers (I am on native), thus, I cannot install the update. The reason I cannot uninstall anything is because I am overwhelmed by "fatal error" or certain missing file/component messages. Because of this I am now stuck with a useless upgrade file and a now half installed version of PT.

I would do a fresh install, but it would take alot more time/effort as I would need to reinstall all of my plugins/Vi's etc, though thankfully not the samples.

Can you shine any light on this or suggest any solution?

Thanks

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:53 AM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

did you try a reinstall of 10.0.1 or a repair? if not, try that then try to uninstall it?
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2012, 01:42 PM
benherron.rrr benherron.rrr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: York
Posts: 163
Default Re: Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
did you try a reinstall of 10.0.1 or a repair? if not, try that then try to uninstall it?
Yeah, I actually just thought of that before I read your post. I will try it now and post back.

Cheers

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2012, 08:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,153
Default Re: Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

Once again, folks, all of you NEED to get on board with drive imaging(Acronis True Image and the like). Its the best $40 you will ever spend. Image before ANY update(Pro Tools, OS updates or any other software installs). Being able to return your system to the last working state quickly and easily is worth its weight in gold

BTW, if you don't think I mean you, WRONG!!! I mean everybody that owns a computer, no matter what you do with it.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:48 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,261
Default Re: Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Once again, folks, all of you NEED to get on board with drive imaging(Acronis True Image and the like). Its the best $40 you will ever spend. Image before ANY update(Pro Tools, OS updates or any other software installs). Being able to return your system to the last working state quickly and easily is worth its weight in gold

BTW, if you don't think I mean you, WRONG!!! I mean everybody that owns a computer, no matter what you do with it.
Right, the overwhelming majority of systems gone bad, would be fixed within minutes if we would just remember to keep current clones or images.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:47 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Cannot install PT 10.2 update??

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Image before ANY update(Pro Tools, OS updates or any other software installs). Being able to return your system to the last working state quickly and easily is worth its weight in gold
Even Avid recommends this! I scratch my head why people don't do this. It will save one days of down time and trouble shooting. I restore an image of W7 64 with all the optimizations predone, then install the newest release and I'm a go in 20 minutes. Simple. I do this with every release.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.2 update install schwartz37 Pro Tools 10 9 06-20-2012 07:18 PM
Can´t install PT9.0.5 update!!! pascalcb Windows 10 08-31-2011 07:58 AM
I can't Install 9.0.2 update JMDNYC macOS 4 03-12-2011 07:04 PM
Update Will Not Install - PT does not see itself? KathyLaBonte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-30-2007 11:20 PM
Should i install the 6.7r2 update? jpace82 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-13-2005 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com