Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2018, 05:22 AM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default CROSS GRADE 8.0.5 to 10?

Hi guys.
So here’s where I’m at!
Getting ready to start the new record and invested in the raven corestaion.
Now it’s time to update the PC.
I’m running windows 10 and I’m using my trusted digi 003x and a scarlet interface.

Question!
Need to crossgrade my 8.0.5 to 10. ( 10 is the last version that works with the 003x according to the site)!
Where and cost?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2018, 09:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: CROSS GRADE 8.0.5 to 10?

I'm a bit confused here. What is an "003x"? In any case, while the 003 interfaces(console, rack and rack+) are not longer supported, the are all still working for many folks on the DUC, up to and including PT1018

I am also confused on how you are using the Scarlet interface with the 003(unless you have it connected via lightpipe, which makes perfect sense)

So, you should be able to just pick any retailer and buy either a perpetual license or a subscription(which needs to be renewed every year). You could also search for a second-hand license for PT11 or 12(my 2 cents, 12.4 is a dandy spot to sit on for a few years)

Last 2 cents, you are moving to a newer(and 64 bit) version of Pro Tools, so do it smart(and cover your *****ets). Don't do anything to your current system drive. Buy another drive, clone FROM your current drive C:, then remove your current drive and install the fresh clone. Next; uninstall/delete Pro Tools and every plugin you own(or just do a fresh OS install on a fresh drive). No doubt you're asking "why do I need to do all that?" The answer is; 2 reasons:
#1-every plugin you now are using is RTAS and PT11 (and newer) NEEDS AAX64 plugins(so all the old installation is wasting drive space)
#2-if something goes sour, you can stick your original system drive back in and get work done(and figure out solutions at your convenience, instead of ripping your hair out because you can't work at all until you figure out what's wrong)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2018, 10:34 AM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default Re: CROSS GRADE 8.0.5 to 10?

Many thanks DAVE.
Greatly appreciated.

The 003 is in fact a rack +.
And the scarlet we use for our auria portable system.

We have been using a Fairlight MFX3+ daw forever and decided to go down the pc route using the raven mti’s.

Whilst I have you on tap my friend, advice on a motherboard, i7 chip and graphics card would be nice. Smile

P.S. the band I am recording is called “D A V E “!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,886
Default Re: CROSS GRADE 8.0.5 to 10?

Hah! That's a trip! X99 motherboard, i7 6800K, 32GB quad-channel RAM and GeForce GTX750Ti here(but if I had the money, I likely would have upped the cpu to 8 or 10 cores)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help for cross grade ppj Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 01-08-2015 12:17 PM
Bought cross-grade from MP9 - got PT9 and not 10? derFunkenstein Pro Tools 10 31 03-12-2012 08:06 PM
Cross-grade or stand alone PT 9 LE? cary chilton Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 03-09-2011 11:08 AM
Cross grade bmercer Pro Tools 9 1 11-23-2010 01:32 PM
Cross-grade question? G5, HD2 to... Tiki King Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2010 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com