Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2015, 11:29 AM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default Firewire chip or master board for 002

What's the best price route?

Fried my FireWire chip in both of my digi 002s!

So I need to replace the chips or the boards!

WHO, HOW and cost of obtaining the parts?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2015, 12:04 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,823
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

This is a good place to start.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/FAQ/en210711
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.7, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2015, 01:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,862
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

The usual 002 Firewire failure would just require replacing the chip. It's an Agere FW802B (no longer made, some components still available.. e.g. EBay). If you are technically inclined and want to do this yourself you can probalby find posts online about folks replacing their own. Should not be too hard if you are comfortable with soldering SMT components.

Otherwise it is almost certainly going to be cheaper/easier to junk the 002 and replace them with a used one off EBay or similar rather than deal with an official Avid service center. Or better to just bite the bullet and upgrade to something newer (especially if you have the rack model).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2015, 02:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,035
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

Agree with Darryl. Replacing with used 003 would likely be the cheapest and most painless move. Any system that works well with 002 should be a shoe-in to seamlessly move to 003 with no fuss(other than maybe a driver update) If you are running PT9 or newer, you have boatloads of options, but most will require the use of that company's monitoring/routing software, so 003 eliminates that learning curve. Got a dead mint 003 controller and would ship at USPS Global rate, but I'm not the least bit offended if you go another route
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2015, 04:03 PM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

Thanks guys!

Will go down the chip way I think!

I have 2 units so will get them repaired and sell one!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2015, 05:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,035
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

Quote:
Originally Posted by filmandlight View Post
Thanks guys!

Will go down the chip way I think!

I have 2 units so will get them repaired and sell one!
Not sure how prices are on the UK, but over here, the repair would cost more than a used 002 is worth. Not sure about similarity between 002 and 003, but the FW repair on my 003 was $327(and that was a chip replacement, not a PCB replacement, which would have been more like $500). The shop has micro-soldering equipment Best of luck on whatever path you choose
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2015, 12:06 AM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

So guys.
an update on my 002 units that had blown FireWire chips!!!

I've ordered 3 new chips from China at a price of $11!

Found a guy that will do the intricate soldering (68 pins per chip) not for the faint hearted! $28 per machine!
So hopefully this solves my problem!
we wil see!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2015, 08:40 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,035
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

Let us know. That will be a great solution if it works!
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-2018, 04:55 AM
filmandlight filmandlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10
Default Re: Firewire chip or master board for 002

It’s been a while! Lol.

So my results on re-chipping my 002 was a total success!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advise on M-board & Chip set finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-22-2002 07:25 PM
where and how much for Oxford Chip Firewire Box? sventvkg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-19-2002 01:54 AM
Firewire Drives Oxford Chip Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-19-2001 12:01 AM
Firewire Drives Oxford Chip Kenny Gioia Tips & Tricks 0 11-18-2001 08:15 AM
Toolbox Rig - Best board and Chip? rexx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-07-2001 04:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com