Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2018, 04:38 AM
TenukiMind TenukiMind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 2
Default Pro tools MP9 sound card for more than 2 recording tracks.

Hello every one, I hope every one is doig well these days !

I'm recently new on DAWs and with PT especially.
I have a m-audio bundle, with the Mobile-pre sound card, and PT MP 9.
Running on win 10 with a decent computer (8Go of RAM).

The version of PT I have can record more than 16 track simultaneously and I dont see any limitation for the use I have so far inside the software.

The problem I have is that I can only record two mic tracks, due to the fact that my M-audio mobile-pre only has two imputs...

Is there any way to use more than 2 tracks with another hardware ? I understood that only this sound card let me able to lauch PT, in fact if the m audio is not there PT refuses to lauch/work. Is there a way to make the m-audio work with PT and having another hardware working with PT simultaneously ?

Maybe these questions are beginner-like but I asume I'm a bit lost on this, and my drums wait being recorded !

Thanks a lot in advance for any further help yu can give me.
Respectfully
V.

EDIT : - I forgot to mention I only have usb available (no firewire but can be change if it's the only way I can change my computer)
- sorry if my thread is not in the good place inside the forum or if the question has already been answered, the forum is pretty huge !

Last edited by TenukiMind; 05-05-2018 at 05:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2018, 12:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,625
Default Re: Pro tools MP9 sound card for more than 2 recording tracks.

You are somewhat limited for 2 reasons. #1-MP9 only works with M-Audio hardware. And #2-no firewire(the M-Audio Profire 2626 would be a great option but is firewire). If you are running a laptop, I have no help to offer, BUT...if you are running a desktop PC, odds are good that you could add a firewire card. In that case, post a Sandra report, or open the PC and tell us the model name/number of the motherboard and someone can probably tell you which firewire card to buy(and its important to choose wisely). You need a card with the required TI chipset and it needs to fit a slot on your motherboard(which could be PCI or PCIe, which are totally different)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2018, 04:14 AM
TenukiMind TenukiMind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro tools MP9 sound card for more than 2 recording tracks.

Hello and thanks for your reply.
I noticed the 2626 could be a great solution but as you mentionned, I'm working with a laptop (absolutely needed cause I move very often).

I saw the M-Audio fast track ultra 8-R (https://en.audiofanzine.com/usb-inte...rack-Ultra-8R/) could be a good USB solution. Do you think it can be compatible with PT MP9 ?

Thanks again for any help you could give me.
Musically
V.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2018, 10:06 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,785
Default Re: Pro tools MP9 sound card for more than 2 recording tracks.

If your laptop has an ExpressCard slot, look at getting one of these:

http://www.siig.com/it-products/fire...presscard.html

Just make sure it has a Texas Instruments (TI) chipset.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i make my digidesign sound card my dedicated sound card? Frankieballsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-01-2016 11:09 PM
PT11 recording up to 80 tracks onto a SDXC card VRW Tips & Tricks 0 03-27-2014 01:34 PM
MIDI tracks are recording an unwanted instrument sound Jen H MIDI 1 10-05-2012 06:39 PM
Distorted sound in recording tracks TDub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-09-2004 04:01 PM
How do i make my digidesign sound card my dedicated sound card? Frankieballsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-04-2003 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com