Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:32 AM
ramsay ramsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Default Maximum simultaneous track record

Hello,

I am looking at buying the following for some live gig recording:

M-Audio Profire 2626
2x Octopre LE & ADAT

This will give me a total of 26 inputs. Can Pro Tools LE or M-Powered record 26 tracks at the same time? I'll be requiring 24 and I've read a few places that say that PT can only handle 16 simultaneous recorded tracks at one time?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:42 AM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

LE can do 18.

On the 002/003

4 Mic/Line Pres
4 Analogue ins
1 stereo SPDIF

Total = 10

ADAT bridge (only one can be connected via lightpipe)

8 Mic/line Pres

Total = 8

Grand Total = 18

Otherwise it is a big investment in an HD3 system to get 24... And I mean BIG in comparison to any LE package.

A:)
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:01 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,672
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

The Profire 2626 can provide 26 simultaneous inputs to any software except PT. M-powered, like LE, "supports" only 18 ins, even when connected to Avid-made equipment that delivers more. Weird, huh? "Dumb" might be a better choice of words. Still, you could track 24 at once through the 2626 into another program (Reaper, e.g.) and then import the tracks into PT M-powered for the edit/mix if you like. If you don't get totally addicted to Reaper in the process.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 12:58 PM
ramsay ramsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

Thanks for the replies.

I have Logic Pro, does that have a limit on the number of tracks you can record in one go?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:38 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,672
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

I haven't used Logic since version 6 but I don't remember there being any arbitrary caps.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2010, 04:33 PM
1ace1 1ace1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, England, UK,
Posts: 582
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

One of my friends/colleagues is an apple accredited logic trainer (am doing logic 9 course with him at the mo). Will ask him tomorrow, but as daeron80 said I believe it would be compatible with the profire with drivers etc...

Logic is not fussy about its audio interface.

Maybe stick a post on gearslutz for more about logic compatibility.

A:)
__________________
I Love Audio!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 06:44 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

Well, I know the Apogee Symphony system hookup allows you to have multiple AD16/DA16x's available, so I don't think there's a limitation in the Logic software.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:54 PM
tanona tanona is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

I noticed that this thread is a couple years old, so maybe Pro Tools LE 8 is now different...and I'm getting conflicting info. Some Guitar Center salesmen seem to think that there is no simultaneous track recording limit. They say the number of tracks that PT LE is able to record is limited by the number of inputs the interface can support.. and in the cases of digi 002 or digi 003, thats 24 total. As in the regular 8, and 2 digimax 8channel type expansion interfaces.

Can someone official give me the cold hard facts? ..and maybe even point me to an official link that can verify it? I have been searching for way too long for a difinitive answer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2010, 07:28 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

There's no limitation on the amount of simultaneous tracks, but you're still limited by the amount of inputs, and that's still a max of 18, whether LE or M-Powered.

But theoretically, you could have each input assigned to 5 tracks if you wanted, which is pointless and would just be recording the exact same thing on each track, but it could be done.

In practical terms, though, nothing has changed for years in that you're still limited to 18 inputs at a time, and that's with buying external preamps/converters.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2010, 07:36 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Maximum simultaneous track record

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanona View Post
I noticed that this thread is a couple years old, so maybe Pro Tools LE 8 is now different...and I'm getting conflicting info. Some Guitar Center salesmen seem to think that there is no simultaneous track recording limit. They say the number of tracks that PT LE is able to record is limited by the number of inputs the interface can support.. and in the cases of digi 002 or digi 003, thats 24 total. As in the regular 8, and 2 digimax 8channel type expansion interfaces.

Can someone official give me the cold hard facts? ..and maybe even point me to an official link that can verify it? I have been searching for way too long for a difinitive answer.
As far as I see this thread started on 05-20-2010, 11:32 AM, so nothings changed. As was stated already, PT has a maximum limit of 18 I/O's, but not limited in it's simultaneous recording. You can certainly track in another program and import the tracks into PT to mix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many simultaneous tracks can PT MP9 record? jglunt2112 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-31-2013 03:42 PM
maximum number of simultaneous I/O songman macOS 2 12-31-2011 11:35 PM
About the Audio Record Simultaneous... Rockman413 Pro Tools 9 5 09-25-2011 11:37 AM
How many simultaneous record ins Alwyn Walker Eleven Rack 11 09-21-2011 06:36 PM
18 simultaneous record on digi 001 seared music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-11-2003 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com