Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2000, 10:20 PM
RIO B RIO B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 12
Default AVALON 737SP

Anyone here familliar with the AVALON 737SP?Well I need good clean and fat sounding preamp..And I was told that AVALON was the to go..Any input

------------------
RIO B.
MABZ MUZIK(BMI)
MAB PRODUCTIONz
__________________
RIO B.
MABZ MUZIK(BMI)
MAB PRODUCTIONz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2000, 02:55 AM
Ciaran1 Ciaran1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Ireland
Posts: 99
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

This unit rocks. I have seen (& heard) it used by many of the worlds top engineers and producers with stunning results - very pricey though.

------------------
Ciarán Cahill
Music, Macs n'Stuff.
__________________
Ciarán Cahill
Music, Macs n'Stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2000, 09:21 AM
Madjef Madjef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

Lots of different opinions I'm sure, about what's better, etc. But the avalon is truly
an incredible piece of gear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2000, 11:07 AM
Dr Strangelove Dr Strangelove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Caracas - Venezuela
Posts: 17
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

I got two of these beauties and they're great, the eq section is very musical, try to find the ones with the purple knobs, the diference is in the tranformer is a little smaller with less headroom, but trust me you won't hear the diference. And they're cheaper. Try www.mercenary.com they have a black edition wich is just like the old ones, I think they sell for $1.850.
You can also check Manley gear, www.manleylabs.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2000, 12:42 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

The worst thing I've heard about the 737 is that it's way over-priced. I've never heard anyone say it sounded anything but splendid.

FWIW, the bass guitar tracks on the new Steely Dan CD were recorded using one.


------------------
LW

[This message has been edited by lwilliam (edited April 06, 2000).]
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2000, 10:10 PM
**e** **e** is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: ny ny
Posts: 9
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

if you recorded with a pre-amp before you'll love the 737 musical eq and sweet comp. if you never recorded with a pre-amp this is going to play a major role in the way your stuff is going to sound. run everthing live through this thing.it really brings live inst.to the next level if you pay more than $1800 you are paying too much.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2000, 09:12 AM
RIO B RIO B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 12
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

Well I can get it for 2000 bucks out the door...with 30 days to try it!!!!!I placed an order for it...hope it works out I'm using an ART dual MP(tube) right now....and DBX

------------------
RIO B.
MABZ MUZIK(BMI)
MAB PRODUCTIONz
__________________
RIO B.
MABZ MUZIK(BMI)
MAB PRODUCTIONz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2000, 08:54 AM
slotools slotools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: rocklin,ca ,placer
Posts: 92
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

FYI The Bass was recorded with the avalon U-5
Direct box preamp (+- 500.00) on the new
Steely Dan recording. A very nice piece of gear.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2000, 11:59 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: AVALON 737SP

You're right, slotools. I stand corrected.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?) articulatedrama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-30-2005 08:59 AM
avalon 737sp x9blade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-31-2005 07:50 AM
AVALON VT-737SP Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-27-2004 11:45 AM
Focusrite 420 or Avalon 737sp???? june bug General Discussion 2 10-19-2002 07:00 PM
What Mic goes best with Avalon 737SP Dal Hic Tips & Tricks 15 03-01-2002 01:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com