Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2005, 10:06 AM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,396
Default avalon 737sp

Hello, What are your favorite mic pres? I recently got a 737 and i'm not that crazy about it.Any suggestions on another choice? i will be using it for gtrs, drums, vocals, bass. The avalon really didn't do anything for me and the compressor seems very slow and not enough character. i basically didn't hear a $2000 difference and imho some of my plug ins seem to be just as good as the 737. Thanks for any advice, suggestions
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:29 PM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: avalon 737sp

I'm sorry to hear that man. $2000.00 is alot of bread. I don't have alot of high end pres but I do have an ISA-428 that I like. It was $1700.00 but I got 4 pres. My only other "good" pres are my Presonus Digimax 96. But I have been looking to getting a "high end" 2 channel mic pre. When I say "high end" I mean $2000.00 or so. I hate to hear that about the 737 though.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:20 PM
BIG D BIG D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 411
Default Re: avalon 737sp

Hi,

For the money I'm considering this little chap. Have heard lots of good reports and I will be able to try one out this week. Will let you know once I have.

http://www.uaudio.com/products/analog/LA-610/index.html

Best,

Big D
__________________
INTEL QUAD XEON
INTEL S5000XVN serverboard
4 gig Fully Buffered Ram (About to add more)
3 x WD500gig SATA, 1 x WD1T32mb SATA cache Green
NVIDIA Geforce 7300le,
Command 8,HD2,192,Massive Pack 4
Windows 7 64 bit PTHD 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:39 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,396
Default Re: avalon 737sp

thanks for the replies. i have a arrangment that i can return it for something else if i want to. I've been messing with it all day and i must admit i am getting some better results ( i think i was having a routing problem) May return it for the universal audio and a command 8. It is sounding a lot nicer tho. Decisions decisons............ thanks again
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2005, 05:34 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: avalon 737sp

I tried the Avalon 737sp and the UA6176, chose the UA. I liked the Avalon, but the UA seemed more suited to my needs. The UA was a tad more, but close enough. I couldn't be happier.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2005, 05:50 PM
murph16 murph16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 729
Default Re: avalon 737sp

Don't return it too quickly...give yourself some time. I got mine about 8 months ago and for the first few weeks i didn't think I was that impressed, but the problem was, I just didn't "get" it. That unit has a hell of a lot of character if you know how to use it. Try a setting similar to the "vocal with de-ess" setting outlined in the owner's manual and go from there. I treasure my 737 now that I've worked with it enough and know what it can do.
__________________
Bill Murphy
www.murphonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2005, 10:29 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,396
Default Re: avalon 737sp

thanks murph .i'm starting to see (hear) what you mean
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2005, 10:38 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: avalon 737sp

Xblade - the 737 is a really good pre / compressor, again, as outlined in this thread, can really become more versatile the more you "Tweak" it.

I agree with the above post... spend some more time with it... "Over tweak" a few things while experimenting to really hear how the unit works, and I think you'll start to hear your $2000.00 I know I do.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:50 AM
AM STUDIOS AM STUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 196
Default Re: avalon 737sp

does anyone know how the M5 sounds like? interested in owning an avalon product but dnt have the $$ for the 737.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I-mac or Avalon 737sp (what would you do?) articulatedrama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-30-2005 08:59 AM
AVALON VT-737SP Riad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-27-2004 11:45 AM
Focusrite 420 or Avalon 737sp???? june bug General Discussion 2 10-19-2002 07:00 PM
What Mic goes best with Avalon 737SP Dal Hic Tips & Tricks 15 03-01-2002 01:57 AM
AVALON 737SP RIO B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-10-2000 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com