Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #191  
Old 09-18-2012, 02:30 PM
Bystah Bystah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Glumslöv
Posts: 1
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

You probably have 2 different preferences files, trash them manualy, then it should work correctly.

JC[/QUOTE]

Hey man, I get the "Is: /Users/Bystah/Library/Preferences/Pro Tools*Pref*: No such file or directory (1)" aswell. If I have two preference-files, how do I know where they are? Can't find em'

I'm trying to solve my "-DAE error 743" problem which happens ALL the time.

Thanks!/Bystah
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:17 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC925602 View Post
I have written a small application with 3 buttons to delete ProTools preferences and Digidesign Database.

Delete ProTools Pref and Database

The next version will include an Archive and Restore of the preferences.

JC
The connection was refused when attempting to contact jcdeshaies.is-a-geek.org.

Has the website been moved ?
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 05-30-2013, 10:14 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_uk View Post
The connection was refused when attempting to contact jcdeshaies.is-a-geek.org.

Has the website been moved ?
no one seems to know what happend

do you need a copy?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 05-30-2013, 10:49 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
no one seems to know what happend

do you need a copy?
Hi Craig
No, i have a copy, thanks for asking. Unless of course its later than version 2.3

I just wanted to link it to someone and found out its defunct.
Maybe Avid have integrated something similar into PT11

Cheers
J
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 05-30-2013, 10:52 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

2.5 https://www.dropbox.com/s/tjz6s4xy6f...lper%202.5.zip
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 05-30-2013, 11:03 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

^^ Oh!

Glad i popped by....
Thanks a lot Craig

Cheers
J
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 06-05-2013, 12:11 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 371
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

Thanks for the download link, saved my day .

Stein Tore
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 06-29-2013, 08:05 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Thanks to everybody for your support and comments for my Pref & database Helper.

You may have noticed that my web site is down. I learned it on the DUC. I did not had time to troubleshoot it, but it mysteriously happened when I changed my internet provider.

I also did not modified my softwares in the last two years, and on a completely «unrelated» matter my second kid is now two years old.

I would like to have time to update my softwares and recode them in cocoa. I even bought a book on cocoa programming. I still have to find the time to open it.

As far as I know, I’m a good sound editor, an OK mixer for TV shows, a very good tech support tech but I’m not a programmer. In september 2011 I started to work for Solotech here in Montreal in the video department. I now setup racks of video servers, network switch, fiber optic transmitters, dedicated DSP (as in audio it’s better than just native) processing machine. I really like the technical challenge, the huge quantity of new things to learn.

Now when I build a rack of servers it may go on the road for two years with close to no maintenance. Everything I learned about patching in sound studios is concentrated in
two 20 units racks.

I still love ProTools and I will upgrade to 11 and work with it, but not as my primary job.

I now have to maintain and upgrade 88 windows computers with 4 different softwares, only 4 MacPro, 20+ laptops, 33 dedicated servers, ?? control computers, more than 40 dedicated DSP machines, more than 140 video over optical fiber transmitters and kilometers of optical fiber (and all the network switches). All of this is scattered all around the globe. And everything (well, most of it) is heavier than a mouse, so it’s good for my health.

I will not receive any nomination for a Gémaux award, but when a tour tech look at a rack I made for him and say it's magical I fell very good.

I'm glad that Peter Gates created and share his PT Prefs as I can't maintain my own pref & database helper. As for my own, I hope that nobody needs it.

I will still read Pro Tools Expert and the DUC on a regular basis. I may sell my ProTools license but only to upgrade to HD native.

As for now I'm happy to work with a great (and big) team that can prepare all the equipments that goes on a tour (light, sound, video, rigging).

Thanks again
Jean-Charles

P.S. For those of you who would like to see one of my rack here is a half finished one:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...98/My_rack.jpg

P.P.S. I posted the same message on the ProTools Expert blog.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 06-29-2013, 09:45 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Good to hear from you.
The rack looks very nice.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 06-30-2013, 06:08 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,425
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Sounds like you're doing well, JC. Thanks for sharing, and good luck
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find Pro Tools 8 prefs to delete in Mountain Lion Cartoonguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-18-2012 09:48 AM
trash database and prefs in P T 8 ??? not2tech Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-06-2009 12:32 PM
I delete prefs and the Database open session then system crashes 8.0.1 philip888 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 09-10-2009 06:42 AM
Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database JC925602 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-21-2007 03:04 AM
Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database JC925602 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-18-2007 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com