Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:07 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 229
Default Preamp for drum recording?

Hey guys,

I am currently using an focusrite saffire pro 26 recording interface. I want to make a serious upgrade. I am thinking of a Lynx Aurora 16 AD-DA converter and dedicated preamps.

Since i"ll need upwards of 14 inputs, I am looking for recommendations on the most cost effective preamps I can buy for tracking drums, guitars and vox. What are your thoughts?

Thanks.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.6.1
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:06 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,406
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Nothing wrong with the Saffire 40 range of pre's imo

It's not a neve or API but it don't sound bad, and I believe it sounds better than the Behringer ADA8000's

Since cost was mentioned this would be my recommendation

Audient would be a step up from them but not huge amounts of money to move up in audio quality
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:07 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,406
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Midas has a XL48 or something that supposedly sounds good, but I've never tried it..
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:31 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 229
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Nothing wrong with the Saffire 40 range of pre's imo

It's not a neve or API but it don't sound bad, and I believe it sounds better than the Behringer ADA8000's

Since cost was mentioned this would be my recommendation

Audient would be a step up from them but not huge amounts of money to move up in audio quality
So while I'm looking for the best bang for the buck, I don't mind spending more for a better sound. I can't afford 16 Neve pre's, but I dont mind getting one or for key things like vox, kick, snare, etc.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.6.1
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:37 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 229
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Midas has a XL48 or something that supposedly sounds good, but I've never tried it..
Interesting. Ideally I'm looking for all analog gear since i'll have the Lynx converter. I do see that the midas has analog out though, i assume it bypasses the built-in A/D converter?
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.6.1
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2016, 09:32 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,406
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Yep....looks like it would. But again I repeat I do not own one.

I've owned and used both the Saffire range of pre's along with the ADA8000.

For me AES outs are awesome- free's up some of my analog inputs....but everyone's setup is different
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2016, 05:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,117
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

As an owner of the Midas XL48, I highly recommend it for at least 2 reasons.
#1-it has lightpipe out so its a great match for your setup.
#2-it sounds head and shoulders better than the focusrite on drums(I also have an OctoPre Mk II Dynamic in my rack). I tested against the Neve and API clones I have(and love on certain things) and the XL48 won handily

http://savetheworldband.com/watch-th...deo-for-bleed/
This is my house Mothertone kit with all the shells thru the Midas. Overheads, hat and ride are thru an ISA-428. Mics are also important and this recording was:
Kick in-Audix D6
Kick out-custom sub-kick
Snare top-Shure Beta56
Snare bottom-EV n/d408
Hat-AT3031
Rack-Audix D6
Floor-Miktek PM11
Ride-Shure SM81 under
Overheads-Miktek C1 pair
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2016, 05:56 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 229
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Thanks Albee. Keep in mind though I won't need light pipe out since I'll be ditching the foxusrite interface and going for a Lynx converter. Would you still recommend it?

I assume the analog outputs bypass the converter inside the Midas?
__________________
  • Pro Tools 12.6.1
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:59 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,406
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

The Lynx should be expandable as well, so if you wanted to in the future you utilize the adat and or the AES

Cool thing I read about this unit that I didn't pay attention to at first was the word clock in/out so you can sync all your outboard and still run your Lynx as master....

B/c the audient only has word clock out....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2016, 07:37 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,117
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Thanks Albee. Keep in mind though I won't need light pipe out since I'll be ditching the foxusrite interface and going for a Lynx converter. Would you still recommend it?

I assume the analog outputs bypass the converter inside the Midas?
Yes I would . I was still thinking re the saffire but the Midas also has analog and AES outs, and even has a split analog out before the pres(though you would have no use for that)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to use a preamp on a snare drum rogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-16-2008 10:59 AM
What is your Favorite Preamp for Drum Overheads wolfman_rob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-29-2007 07:12 AM
Best all around drum preamp Hank5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-22-2006 09:55 PM
preamp for drum noequipment Tips & Tricks 7 12-19-2002 01:35 AM
Drum Mic and PreAmp King Kong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-30-2002 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com