Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2014, 04:49 PM
Blanejmc Blanejmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2
Default Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Hi guys,

This is my first post here so be gentle...

I boldly (foolishly) upgraded to Yosemite this week as I could not resist all that UI goodness! I bring good news and bad news how the 003 fared with Yosemite.

Firstly, the good news. On my system it worked, I could listen to and record sound just like I could with mavericks.

...However, when the 003 is being used for streaming audio in any way the (latest) driver causes a kernel panic.This means that the process 'kernel_task' uses 100%(+) on Core 1 of your CPU.

Will it work: Yes.
Should you update to Yosemite: From my experience definitely not.

Hope this is of some use.

James.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2014, 02:49 PM
Landmoler Landmoler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Hi Blanejmc
Great to hear from someone who's actually tried to run a Digi 003 with Yosemite...
But what do you mean by: "when the 003 is being used for streaming audio in any way the (latest) driver causes a kernel panic"?
By "streaming audio" do you mean the sounds recorded into Pro Tools, or do you mean streaming audio from elsewhere, i.e. iTunes, the internet or whatever. In other words, anything that isn't coming directly from Pro Tools?
Are you, by the way, using Pro Tools 11? (I am).
Any other details you have regarding using Pro Tools/Digi 003 with Yosemite would be appreciated, before I myself take the leap from Mavericks!
Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2014, 01:41 PM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

I confirm that the 003 (rack + in my case) works fine under Yosemite. However, I have the kernel_task bug as well, but I read elsewhere that it's not specific to Yosemite. It was so annoying that I had to stop using the 003 and for the time being I've replaced it with my trusty old 896, which works like a charm.

I hope we'll get updated drivers soon for the 003.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2014, 01:54 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

I'm going to wait before upgrading. Love my 003. Would hate to spend the next couple months trying to get it to work again. Oh yeah. My 001 still Rocks.

__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live

Last edited by SpinningDisk; 01-29-2015 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2014, 07:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,081
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

What happens if you set the 003 to ONLY be used by Pro Tools, and send all other audio out the computer's audio port(CORE audio)?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2014, 05:02 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
What happens if you set the 003 to ONLY be used by Pro Tools, and send all other audio out the computer's audio port(CORE audio)?
That's how mine was set, only for Pro Tools (I don't like the delay in iTunes for example before it connects to the host). But my kernel_task was going crazy anyway as soon as the 003 was connected. Also for some reason, it didn't disconnect once I quit Pro Tools. I didn't remember that in my first post, so yes, the 003 kinda works in Yosemite.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2014, 12:20 AM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

I've had this problem since pre-Yosemite. would love to know if a fix exists
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2014, 11:43 AM
Blanejmc Blanejmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Hi,

Sorry for the late reply. Unfortunately I do not have ProTools (Didn't upgrade from 8.) I am currently downloading the 11 trial (at 25Kb/s c'mon Avid...).

It is interesting to find out that people are having this problem on pre-Yosemite as Avid have released a 10.9.4 driver.

Just to re-iterate: When I said streaming audio I meant iTunes,VLC, Logic etc. The most frustrating thing is I have just bought a pair of K702s and I am dying to properly test them through a reasonable dac.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2014, 11:34 PM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Prior incident:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=352981
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2014, 05:31 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Yosemite 003 Rack Works! (kinda...)

Has anyone tried the new driver (11.1.3 dated dec. 16) under Yosemite? I'll give it a shot but if the kernel_task bug hasn't disappeared I won't bother reinstalling my 003!
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 works with eleven rack but not mbox 3 anymore legacygt777 Pro Tools 10 2 03-29-2013 01:11 AM
FYI - Fender Mustang IV works GREAT with Eleven Rack! Justin1524 Eleven Rack 9 06-12-2011 07:53 PM
002 rack works then stops EJBIV 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 06-08-2011 07:27 PM
003 rack works mbox2 minicrashes macbook urcool 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-17-2008 05:35 AM
MAC OS 9.2 & DIGI 002 RACK WORKS !!! aliakr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-20-2003 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com