Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2012, 12:44 AM
Cribs Cribs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Post kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

I am having an issue where my computers CPU gets maxed out by the kernel_task process when I am playing back my Pro Tools sessions. It is not something that always happens, however it happens quite often. I have even had it happen when no hardware is plugged in (Pro Tools using Aggregate). I have contacted Apple Support several times with no success. This problem only ever happens when Pro Tools is open, but it is not reproducible by following the same steps. The only common steps is that it happens during playback, and once it starts it doesn't stop for a while, sometimes hard booting is the only way to stop it.

Any help at all would be amazing. Let me know if there are any log files you want posted.

My Setup:
15" Mac Book Pro 2012
2.4GHz Quad Core I7
8GB RAM
256GB SSD
2TB Thunderbolt Drive
OSX 10.7.4
Pro Tools 9.0.6
Several Waves Pluggins
Synthogy Ivory Pluggin
Digi 003R
Digi 002R (I never have both units plugged in at once. This is here just to let you know that this problem is happening with both of my units, so I don't think it is the unit itself)


PS: I have noticed issues with the DigiDioMidiDriver.plugin driver. I have to remove it to get my Midi Studio to open in Lion. I have tried installing the patch from the download page but it didn't help the problem. It is my understanding that this will only render the MIDI ports on the 002R and 003R unusable. The problem I am having occurs regardless of whether that driver is installed or not.


Thanks,

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2013, 10:11 PM
MikesLegion MikesLegion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 4
Default Re: kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

Chris,

I'm having the exact same problem with my MBP early 2011 OS X 10.7.5 running PT 10.3.2.

It seems that the fans kick up and its very hard to get the system to cool even after quitting everything. Have you found any solutions/improvements?

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2014, 10:01 AM
joey8989896 joey8989896 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

I've been having this problem ever since upgrading to Maverick but obviously you guys had this problem before then. Im running a late 2012 macbook pro with 8gb of ram and I have a 003 + rack interface. It come on when any audio plays through my interface (including system sounds ex.trash bin)

This Problem seems to be bigger than just pro tools tho. People are having the same problem when they plug in there headphones and using other programs too. Heres a thread i've been reading for a while:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5520342?tstart=0

Sucks that nothing has been done to fix this! Ive talked to apple support but they didn't have a clue and told me to ask avid about it, which cost lie $40 just to get tech support...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2014, 07:07 PM
MikesLegion MikesLegion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 4
Default Re: kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

Just wanted to give an update as to my situation. The original issue (from my research) seemed to be an issue with the graphics card. Apple sent my computer to their depot 3 times and finally deemed it a lemon on their part and subtracted what I paid for my laptop in 2011 from the total of a new mac. The whole process took 18 months and YEARS of missed deadlines and loss of momentum.

Finally have a brand new MBPr and getting the ball rolling again. Hope you had some luck with your system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2014, 08:03 AM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

Having the same problem here. I know it's legacy hardware but considering the last few drivers have all been unusable, I really do hope a quick fix can be done so that it doesn't take up a whole CPU core on it's own.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2014, 02:32 PM
SamboBing SamboBing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: kernel_task takes up all CPU when Pro Tools is playing back

Hi Mike,
How's the new MBPr treating you? I have a late 2011 MBP and the fans will randomly kick on even with a minimal session and no hardware attached (running 10.8.5 and PT 11.2.1). I've been eyeing a referb MBPr (October 2013 version) hoping that would help. Did your new MBPr cure the fan noise?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikesLegion View Post
Just wanted to give an update as to my situation. The original issue (from my research) seemed to be an issue with the graphics card. Apple sent my computer to their depot 3 times and finally deemed it a lemon on their part and subtracted what I paid for my laptop in 2011 from the total of a new mac. The whole process took 18 months and YEARS of missed deadlines and loss of momentum.

Finally have a brand new MBPr and getting the ball rolling again. Hope you had some luck with your system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 playing video back way too fast asaffulks Pro Tools 11 6 09-13-2013 07:41 AM
Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio lockwolf Windows 4 09-25-2011 10:56 AM
Pro Tools Not Playing Back (Play To Pause Stutter) MikeQuell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-22-2007 06:29 AM
Pro Tools not playing back please help!! mamutrance 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-08-2005 12:22 PM
Pro Tools playing back 40 tracks/channels meshtheflesh Tips & Tricks 4 07-13-2000 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com