Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2013, 05:01 PM
jschmidtiii jschmidtiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default Playing back part of a selection without affecting timeline/selection

Hi,

'm wondering if you play back a section of a selection without eliminating the selection. It seems that I only have the options to play back the whole thing, or move the cursor about to the point where I want to listen from and have my edit selection and timeline selection both de-selected. I know that I can keep the timeline selection around by unlinking my edit and timeline selections, but ideally I would be able to keep both where they are and playback from wherever I want within them. Does anybody know how to do this? Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2013, 07:02 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: Playing back part of a selection without affecting timeline/selection

If you have an HD license, you can do this with Dynamic Transport. Page 427 of the reference guide.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:05 PM
jschmidtiii jschmidtiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 77
Default Re: Playing back part of a selection without affecting timeline/selection

Thanks! Great tip!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeline selection while playing forces playhead jump geelo Pro Tools 9 5 02-19-2018 03:45 AM
TIMELINE SELECTION MARKER??? craigdwlr Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-12-2007 10:03 PM
PT 7 TCE Edit to Timeline Selection Bug DaveP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-30-2006 12:15 PM
expanding "loop-selection" while playing back... gregor rasek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-06-2004 08:08 PM
timeline selection Graeme Oxby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-12-2003 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com