Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:26 AM
word_play word_play is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Default What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

Hey guys, just picked up this:

http://canadacomputers.com/index.php...85&cid=PWP.101

I currently have my DAW and my two LCD monitors (23 inch and 19 inch) connected to battery back up and my studio monitors (KRK Rokit 5's) connected to the surge protection. My question is, and I don't see why it would be a problem just wanted to be safe and ask, is it ok to connect the studio monitors to the battery back up portion of the UPS? According to the LCD screen on the UPS, it is not even at half load with the DAW and lcd monitors connected. What do you guys think?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2010, 11:20 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

I only connect monitor's(vid) and computer. Those are the only things I need running in the event of a power failure. And that just gives me time to shut down properly.
Speakers (and everything else) are surge protected but not UPS'd. I wouldn't continue to work during a power outage so I consider it unnecessary.
YMMV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

I have a similar sized APC UPS and have everything on it EXCEPT the speakers(powered Event SP8's and Powered sub).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:45 PM
word_play word_play is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have a similar sized APC UPS and have everything on it EXCEPT the speakers(powered Event SP8's and Powered sub).
Is there a reasoning behind not putting the speakers on it? Or just not enough room?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:51 PM
DeyBwah DeyBwah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 560
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMS40 View Post
I only connect monitor's(vid) and computer. Those are the only things I need running in the event of a power failure. And that just gives me time to shut down properly.
Speakers (and everything else) are surge protected but not UPS'd. I wouldn't continue to work during a power outage so I consider it unnecessary.
YMMV
That's a great point, I currently have everything connected to my UPS.. and in power outages, I would simply run and switch off everything that was unnecessarily taking up juice and limiting my safe shut down.

Thanks for the tip.
__________________
"One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one's greatest efforts."
-Albert Einstein

Windows 7 - Reaper 3 - Lynx Aurora 16 - RME HDSPe AES - DigiMax FS - Eureka - Axiom Pro - Yamaha HS80Ms + HS10W Sub
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2010, 03:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

Quote:
Originally Posted by word_play View Post
Is there a reasoning behind not putting the speakers on it? Or just not enough room?
The speakers are the biggest current draw(outside of the computer) and if the power goes out, I don't need them(and I don't want preamps and such to go down in case I am in record).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2010, 03:55 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

While it's true that no one would want the live recording session to go down, you have to realize how many UPS units you want to purchase for this situation. While I'm at home, the main thing for me would be the computer, any external hardrives, monitor, and the interface. The reason for these simply is to shutdown the system and wait till the power comes back. It's important to save the session and the drives where everything is at, so the speakers, outboard gear etc, i can live without. In the studio it's a different story.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2010, 04:15 PM
word_play word_play is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Default Re: What should be hooked up to UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply)

makes sense.. thanks for the input guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 04:23 PM
Uninterrupted Power Supplies word_play 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-14-2010 03:02 PM
002 power supply/bad power harness? please help :( djkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-07-2005 08:04 PM
Phantom power and mic with power supply? hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 12:56 PM
BAD POWER HARNESS/POWER SUPPLY!!??HELP!! snuffacation 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-11-2004 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com