Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2019, 08:54 PM
awritersparadise awritersparadise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 178
Default anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing patch

Was thinking of using this out on the road for live.. I would be using different patches and such depending on the section of the song.. but I've noticed when switching patches (manually scrolling right now from one to the next) there's a 60ms silence gap in between switching over to the new patch.. which would be a no go live.. anyone use this successfully live without the noticeable "changing patches" 60 ms pause?
__________________
Custom Thermaltake PC / Windows 10 / 16 gigs of ram / Intel I-9 CPU (12 cores) / UAD Apollo Quad Firewire Interface / M.2 System Drive / 5TB Solid State Session Drive / Pro Tools 2019 Subscription
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2019, 09:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing pa

Patch change latency has been discussed here a lot many years ago. You can search and find those past discussions. It is what it is. You can switch effects within a patch, or use two Eleven Racks and a switcher, or get an Axe FX, ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2019, 09:05 PM
awritersparadise awritersparadise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 178
Default Re: anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing pa

thanks for the response. much appreciated. research continues! :)
__________________
Custom Thermaltake PC / Windows 10 / 16 gigs of ram / Intel I-9 CPU (12 cores) / UAD Apollo Quad Firewire Interface / M.2 System Drive / 5TB Solid State Session Drive / Pro Tools 2019 Subscription
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2019, 09:09 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing pa

This latency and the inability to have cab emulation off for an on-stage guitar cab and simultaneously on for FOH output are two of the live restrictions with the Eleven Rack that bugged folks. If Chris Townsend had stayed at Avid I'd have hoped there would be some chance those would have been fixed. ... and some more effects added. But alas...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2019, 10:08 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,627
Default Re: anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing pa

Somewhat reminiscent of what Structure was...

....a really nice product that wasn’t fully developed to be a Top Tier product
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2019, 06:15 PM
DonaldR DonaldR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Saint-Jerome, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 331
Default Re: anyone use Eleven rack live with patch changes? 60ms silence gap when changing pa

I have not measured but I can feel latency changing patch with the scroll knob but I (almost) don't feel any when using a midi pedal. I use it live and my friend used mine also (when I play bass in the band) and never mentioned anything about latency. But he always reported how crazy this thing is sounding :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Patch Change Time - G-System CReedZAT Eleven Rack 10 09-15-2014 11:48 PM
Disabling MIDI patch changes, when recording MIDI through the Eleven Rack? amnesian48 Eleven Rack 2 04-07-2014 01:58 PM
MIDI patch changing from DAW sanjaydas7 Eleven Rack 10 02-16-2014 08:38 AM
Midi Patch Changing CHRIS AIKEN MIDI 0 04-18-2001 10:50 AM
Changing Patch Names?? Mista Digga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-29-2000 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com