Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2020, 11:14 PM
rev_mex rev_mex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13
Default OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

I'm frustrated. I'm old.

I've been holding on to my digi003 because it has 8 1/4 inputs (I have an MPC 2000XL). I use vintage equipment and I love making music with analog instruments. What is the modern day equivalent of the 003? I am not a big producer so I'm not trying to spend $3k. I make music in my home studio and if I decide I want to take it to the next level then I copy my session to a drive and take it to a real studio. But i want to work on my tracks at home. I don't do a lot of midi and plugins. I want to do straight wired analog recording.

Can someone point me to a good hardware that can replace my digi003? It also needs to have outputs for my recording monitors. It has to be compatible with Windows 10 and the latest protools version. Thunderbolt 3 preferred.
Sorry but im a bit frustrated. I keep trying to keep my 003 working and patches, updates etc are making it more difficult so I don't know where to go next.

Thanks anyone for help.

Last edited by rev_mex; 10-25-2020 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2020, 05:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,736
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Are you using the desktop 003 or the rackmount? That makes a big difference in the recommendations. Do you really need USB-c? If not and you want to save money take a look at the MOTU interfaces.; they have several under $1000 Or if you can spend a bit more there's the UAD Apollo line.; a bit pricey and they have DSP.


Do you need low/no latency straight play-through of your external hardware? There's few interfaces that do that anymore. Some of the MOTU stuff can do that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2020, 06:56 AM
rev_mex rev_mex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Are you using the desktop 003 or the rackmount? That makes a big difference in the recommendations. Do you really need USB-c? If not and you want to save money take a look at the MOTU interfaces.; they have several under $1000 Or if you can spend a bit more there's the UAD Apollo line.; a bit pricey and they have DSP.


Do you need low/no latency straight play-through of your external hardware? There's few interfaces that do that anymore. Some of the MOTU stuff can do that.
I use the 003 console version. Truth be told - I only use the input volume and monitor knobs. I adjust my levels and tweeks in pro tools. I'm basically saying that I don't really need a huge console but since I am a hands on person then some knobs that can adjust volume controls would be nice. Also, I only say USB-C because i never understood USB vs firewire in my 003. I just wanted to hit "record" and not expect a lock up so I thought firewire was the best and faster than USB.
Are there specific models you recommend? Can they be "standards" something that everyone has and loves?
I appreciate you responding. Meanwhile I am going to get an old PC (old Windows OS) from my garage and try to get my 003 going on it til i find something modern.
Lastly, I'm always on youtube so I can always look up review vids to help narrow what I need. I just need some salesman type guidance. Thank you!
btw, not sure what you mean by "Do you need low/no latency straight play-through of your external hardware? " Does that mean that if I play instruments along with tracks that I recorded? YES, if so.

EDIT: NEVERMIND ABOUT USB-C. I meant Thunderbolt 3!

OK I just looked up MOTU 828x. This looks like it's an answer. It has the 8 inputs I need. I just have to see if there's something a little better and if it works with protools. Looks like it's been around for a while so I have to see if there's something more modern.

Last edited by rev_mex; 10-24-2020 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2020, 07:48 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 359
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

I retried my 003+ R a few years ago replacing it with the Focusrite Claret 8 Pre X. Much less than $3k and it sounds good. I use Artist mix and the Pro Tools control app on iPad. The Claret is really, in my opinion, what the Avid 004R would have looked like.

Thunderbolt 2 both Mac & PC. A thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt 3 adapter works just fine.

Actually my 003r + is only semi retired. It now lives in a rack case on wheels that I use with my win 7 laptop for mobile recording.

Just a thought.
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
Bob
Pro Tools Standard (current version)| Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS Catalina |

Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2020, 07:58 AM
rev_mex rev_mex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post
I retried my 003+ R a few years ago replacing it with the Focusrite Claret 8 Pre X. Much less than $3k and it sounds good. I use Artist mix and the Pro Tools control app on iPad. The Claret is really, in my opinion, what the Avid 004R would have looked like.

Thunderbolt 2 both Mac & PC. A thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt 3 adapter works just fine.

Actually my 003r + is only semi retired. It now lives in a rack case on wheels that I use with my win 7 laptop for mobile recording.

Just a thought.
Thank you for the reply, I am up looking things up. Yes, I'm a real simple person. I don't need bells and whistles. I am just looking for an equivalent of a 003 but a modern version. By equivalent I mean performance wise not a huge console. I was happy with the sound of the 003 so I want to be happy with the sound in the new thing. I'm assuming I connect this to my PC and use Protools with it like the 003? I'm looking this up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2020, 10:04 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,736
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by rev_mex View Post
I use the 003 console version. Truth be told - I only use the input volume and monitor knobs. I adjust my levels and tweeks in pro tools. I'm basically saying that I don't really need a huge console but since I am a hands on person then some knobs that can adjust volume controls would be nice. Also, I only say USB-C because i never understood USB vs firewire in my 003. I just wanted to hit "record" and not expect a lock up so I thought firewire was the best and faster than USB.
Are there specific models you recommend? Can they be "standards" something that everyone has and loves?
I appreciate you responding. Meanwhile I am going to get an old PC (old Windows OS) from my garage and try to get my 003 going on it til i find something modern.
Lastly, I'm always on youtube so I can always look up review vids to help narrow what I need. I just need some salesman type guidance. Thank you!
btw, not sure what you mean by "Do you need low/no latency straight play-through of your external hardware? " Does that mean that if I play instruments along with tracks that I recorded? YES, if so.

EDIT: NEVERMIND ABOUT USB-C. I meant Thunderbolt 3!

OK I just looked up MOTU 828x. This looks like it's an answer. It has the 8 inputs I need. I just have to see if there's something a little better and if it works with protools. Looks like it's been around for a while so I have to see if there's something more modern.
The 828x is pretty darn good for what the average bedroom producer wants. And it will work with PT. As to straight play-thru what I'm talking about is the ability to play your external hardware without going through a/d and d/a conversions and the subsequent delay. Because you're looking at the MOTU take a look at what they call CueMix. With that you can setup a direct monitoring of your external h/w AND record into PT at the same time. It will also allow you to play your external h/w and you don't want to power up the computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2020, 01:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

I also retired my 003R a few months ago(and also had the mixer version but used very little of the surface). My replacement is the Presonus Studio 1810c and its been working quite nicely once I gave up on the crappy USB-c card I bought. Instead, I just run it in on a USB3 port. The next model up gives more IO if you need it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2020, 10:06 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Does your computer already have Thunderbolt? Typically, this isn’t something you can just “add on.”
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2020, 02:50 PM
rev_mex rev_mex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Does your computer already have Thunderbolt? Typically, this isn’t something you can just “add on.”
Yes. I’ve been looking at audio interface videos since I’ve posting this. Lol
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2020, 04:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,637
Default Re: OK I'm done with my Digi003 - Help with new hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by rev_mex View Post
Yes. I’ve been looking at audio interface videos since I’ve posting this. Lol
What exact make/model computer do you have?

USB-C is just a type of connector... it does not tell you what protocols are supported. A USB-C connector on a PC usually does *not* imply it has Thunderbolt support, they likely only provide USB 3 or 2 and no Thunderbolt, unless it is specifically called out. A USB-C connector on an interface might support say USB-3 or Thunderbolt... not both. You have to be clear what it actually supports.

I am going to guess that Thunderbolt interfaces are really not a good option for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot change hardware buffer size on DIGI003 krazylain Windows 14 10-28-2016 09:22 AM
Digi003 Podgorny Pro Tools 9 5 11-06-2010 11:07 AM
hardware recommendations for getting a MBPro to work with DIGI003 wishesonaplane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 05-05-2009 06:23 AM
How Big a Learning Curve on Digi003 (002) Hardware Interface bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-14-2007 02:54 PM
Digi003 mushmouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-10-2005 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com