Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2017, 09:22 PM
AlessandroSaini AlessandroSaini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 1
Default VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

Greetings Avid community!

I purchased Pro Tools 12 with the intent of using it to host the video off of my main computer and have it slave to Cubase. The only thing giving me trouble is loading the video into PT on my slave system.

The problem is strange because I have Pro Tools installed on my main system, a mid-2010 Mac Pro, and I can load any video in with no problem (regardless of format). However, on my 2011 iMac, PT gives the message shown in the screen shot when I try to drag the video in.

I have done the following to troubleshoot so far with 0 success:

- uninstall and reinstall Pro Tools twice
- copy all the codecs from my Mac Pro to my iMac
- converted the video to Apple Pro Res 422 and 422 (proxy)
- moved the video files around to make them easier to locate for PT

Again, it is so strange, because there is 0 problems on the Mac Pro, it's literally only when I move over to the iMac that this happens. Two things seems certain, I am not missing any codecs and the files I'm using are supported. The fact that this all runs on one system is proof.

The only difference between the Mac Pro and iMac is that on my iMac I also installed the DX drivers, but when I read about what that is, it shouldn't be causing this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I get the sense it's something silly. I've also included a shot of all the codecs on my iMac. Ironically, my Mac Pro actually has much fewer codecs than this, yet the problem is still only on the iMac. I am just moving my iLok from one computer to the other the run PT.

Also note, I do not have an audio interface on my iMac yet, just setting to Pro Tools Aggregate I/O for now, but I'm assuming that shouldn't matter from importing a video.

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 11.05.58 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	9017   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 8.19.51 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	9018  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2017, 09:44 PM
jpustin jpustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
Default Re: VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

Looks like you don't have the prores codecs?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2017, 09:44 PM
jpustin jpustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
Default Re: VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

My bad, ignore

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2017, 07:09 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,600
Default Re: VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlessandroSaini View Post
Greetings Avid community!

I purchased Pro Tools 12 with the intent of using it to host the video off of my main computer and have it slave to Cubase. The only thing giving me trouble is loading the video into PT on my slave system.

The problem is strange because I have Pro Tools installed on my main system, a mid-2010 Mac Pro, and I can load any video in with no problem (regardless of format). However, on my 2011 iMac, PT gives the message shown in the screen shot when I try to drag the video in.

I have done the following to troubleshoot so far with 0 success:

- uninstall and reinstall Pro Tools twice
- copy all the codecs from my Mac Pro to my iMac
- converted the video to Apple Pro Res 422 and 422 (proxy)
- moved the video files around to make them easier to locate for PT

Again, it is so strange, because there is 0 problems on the Mac Pro, it's literally only when I move over to the iMac that this happens. Two things seems certain, I am not missing any codecs and the files I'm using are supported. The fact that this all runs on one system is proof.

The only difference between the Mac Pro and iMac is that on my iMac I also installed the DX drivers, but when I read about what that is, it shouldn't be causing this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I get the sense it's something silly. I've also included a shot of all the codecs on my iMac. Ironically, my Mac Pro actually has much fewer codecs than this, yet the problem is still only on the iMac. I am just moving my iLok from one computer to the other the run PT.

Also note, I do not have an audio interface on my iMac yet, just setting to Pro Tools Aggregate I/O for now, but I'm assuming that shouldn't matter from importing a video.

Thank you!
hi, system info .. MAc OS version for each computer .. etc .. some folks solved this by re-importing the video .. and does this happen in a Blank Session with just the Video track ??

you said you copied the codecs, did you try installing the codecs ?? there might be a hidden file that was missed with the copy procedure ..

here is one article related to this, looking for more - there have been several Threads regarding this floating around, just eed to find them .. and this article is for PT11 and higher .. even though the link just says PT11

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...o-Pro-Tools-11
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2018, 09:38 PM
Tezekiel Tezekiel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2
Default Re: VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlessandroSaini View Post
Greetings Avid community!

I purchased Pro Tools 12 with the intent of using it to host the video off of my main computer and have it slave to Cubase. The only thing giving me trouble is loading the video into PT on my slave system.

The problem is strange because I have Pro Tools installed on my main system, a mid-2010 Mac Pro, and I can load any video in with no problem (regardless of format). However, on my 2011 iMac, PT gives the message shown in the screen shot when I try to drag the video in.

I have done the following to troubleshoot so far with 0 success:

- uninstall and reinstall Pro Tools twice
- copy all the codecs from my Mac Pro to my iMac
- converted the video to Apple Pro Res 422 and 422 (proxy)
- moved the video files around to make them easier to locate for PT

Again, it is so strange, because there is 0 problems on the Mac Pro, it's literally only when I move over to the iMac that this happens. Two things seems certain, I am not missing any codecs and the files I'm using are supported. The fact that this all runs on one system is proof.

The only difference between the Mac Pro and iMac is that on my iMac I also installed the DX drivers, but when I read about what that is, it shouldn't be causing this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I get the sense it's something silly. I've also included a shot of all the codecs on my iMac. Ironically, my Mac Pro actually has much fewer codecs than this, yet the problem is still only on the iMac. I am just moving my iLok from one computer to the other the run PT.

Also note, I do not have an audio interface on my iMac yet, just setting to Pro Tools Aggregate I/O for now, but I'm assuming that shouldn't matter from importing a video.

Thank you!
Hey there. I had the same issue when trying to import my video files. I found out that i had renamed the folder which had my videos stored with a " / ". Somehow having " / " within the folder name creates an issue with linking the codecs or components needed. I hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2018, 02:26 PM
klaasberings klaasberings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Re: VIDEO ISSUE - Unable to link due to missing CODEC or unsupported file

Thanks Tezekiel!

This tip keeps me from re-installing PT and all the hazzle involved
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video codec issue LukeHoward Post - Surround - Video 8 09-27-2014 10:52 AM
How to remove a missing video link? Skytouch Post - Surround - Video 19 08-30-2013 06:28 PM
Video codec for Black Magic Deck Link actualsizeaudio Post - Surround - Video 23 07-12-2013 07:26 PM
Structure File Navigation - The Missing Video RussUK Virtual Instruments 2 02-17-2009 01:27 AM
Missing Video File(s) Question stretto Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-15-2005 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com