Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2013, 10:38 AM
ChrisSnyder ChrisSnyder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 21
Default Calibration issue (long time user)

Hey guys!

I have 2 Digidesign 192. I have calibrated them with alot of gear thru the years.

Just bought a mastering eq and a mastering compressor, hardware. To put on my 2bus.

Sending a -18db sine on a stereo audio channel, inserting my hardware I/O, getting different levels on left and right, trimming the knobs in the back on my 192, match the levels exactly, restart pro tools or opening a different projects.. and bam, right or sometimes left channel differ 2-5 db, just like prior to calibration .. Opening upp my calibration project, same thing, different levels on L and R.

Has it something to do with me trimming like, the wrong trim knobs on the back? I mean, I can both trim the inputs and outputs..

And yes, I have used the calibration guide in the manual .. and this way. Same result ...

What am I missing ?

Thank you for your support!


//Chris
__________________
http://www.standstraight.se Music Studio in Stockholm.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2013, 02:51 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: Calibration issue (long time user)

Are you turning trim A while having Setup-->Hardware set to use the settings from trim B?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2013, 03:00 PM
ChrisSnyder ChrisSnyder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Calibration issue (long time user)

Only turning A.

Like i wrote, i turn the trims and match the levels. But then it drops it.
__________________
http://www.standstraight.se Music Studio in Stockholm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2013, 03:56 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: Calibration issue (long time user)

Is the calibration level setting (Setup-->Preferences) being reset? Are you opening a session that uses a different pan law (v9 or later)?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Time PT User; Brand New Rig ohmy Getting Started 3 08-13-2013 07:56 AM
New mac user - long time PC user. Need to install on Mac. SixChurchStreet Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-21-2010 06:54 AM
PT8 User Time Stamp Issue pdubber 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-17-2009 04:43 AM
Long time 001 user with upgrade questions Folkcafe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-23-2007 08:30 PM
Long time user, 1st post Greg Rogers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-11-2006 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com