Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:27 AM
nerdlinger nerdlinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 98
Default iLok fails again

I had an iLok fail exactly three years ago - the LED wouldn't come on, Pro Tools and plug-ins wouldn't work. I got a replacement, and it worked fine - until yesterday. Same thing again, no LED etc.

The computer is never moved, and the iLok is plugged in the back - so it's not from physical damage. Do these things fail that often, or am I just unlucky?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:45 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,656
Default Re: iLok fails again

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdlinger View Post
I had an iLok fail exactly three years ago - the LED wouldn't come on, Pro Tools and plug-ins wouldn't work. I got a replacement, and it worked fine - until yesterday. Same thing again, no LED etc.

The computer is never moved, and the iLok is plugged in the back - so it's not from physical damage. Do these things fail that often, or am I just unlucky?
Hmm. I'd say you got unlucky. Either that or something else may be causing it (static?).

All I know is I have about 8 or 9 iLoks used on a daily basis, being pulled in and out of machines for almost 8 years now and none have ever failed.

Of course, *I* could just be lucky!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:50 AM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: iLok fails again

Well that was helpful
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:52 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,694
Default Re: iLok fails again

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean shannon View Post
Well that was helpful
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:53 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: iLok fails again

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hmm. I'd say you got unlucky. Either that or something else may be causing it (static?).

All I know is I have about 8 or 9 iLoks used on a daily basis, being pulled in and out of machines for almost 8 years now and none have ever failed.

Of course, *I* could just be lucky!
I can attest to this as well. Have a few iloks that get switched around between computers all the time, some are at least 3 years old. Never any problems.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:54 AM
guitar486 guitar486 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 727
Default Re: iLok fails again

My main ilok is about to turn 6 and I haven't had any problems with it (hardware problems that is ).
__________________
----I was thinking of taking a solo in the bridge.
-Nah, I don't think that would sound good.
----Ok, well how about just a series of cool riffs?

Mac Pro 2008 (Harpertown) -- OS X 10.8.2 -- 16GB RAM -- WD Black Drives -- UA Apollo Quad -- Pro Tools 10 w/ CPTK
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2010, 12:51 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: iLok fails again

I think you are just unlucky. I have three iLoks, ranging from 3 to about 7 years old now, moved around plenty, and have not had one fail. I've never actually heard of one fail that wasn't dropped or snapped in half, etc.

Sorry to hear it, but seems like it's a pretty rare occurrence.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2010, 02:12 PM
browniespeaks browniespeaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 778
Default Re: iLok fails again

is your machine over clocked? have you increased USB voltage? Power supply issues? All things i can think of that woul make a usb device sizzle ( I love that word).
__________________
Clifford Brown III
Brown Audio Solutions & Services
www.brownaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2010, 04:32 PM
nerdlinger nerdlinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: iLok fails again

The machine is a stock PowerMac G5 1.8 GHz single processor that I purchased new in 2004. I haven't modified it in any way. It's got an HD core and two Accel cards in it. There are no power supply issues I'm aware of. I've used other USB devices that have worked fine.

Other than the two failed iLoks, I haven't had any problems with the G5.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2010, 04:40 PM
browniespeaks browniespeaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 778
Default Re: iLok fails again

that sucks... I'm assuming the fried ILok's don't work in other machines either. That is really unlucky but i guess out of the low % that fail someone has to be the low percentage that gets two in a row.
__________________
Clifford Brown III
Brown Audio Solutions & Services
www.brownaudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update iLok drivers fails Filch Pro Tools 10 3 10-27-2013 09:27 PM
ILok Fails Upon Install - - Come on ChuckLogan Windows 9 07-14-2012 12:29 AM
Unable to get past first ASC support page, need temporary PT license after ilok fails pinups Pro Tools 10 0 01-27-2012 02:28 PM
What to do when your PT9 ILok fails Will Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2011 05:17 AM
iLok driver installation fails every time finnburger Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 04-17-2006 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com