Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:57 AM
knewbee knewbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 284
Default Griffin G4Port serial MIDI interface on OSX PT?

Greetings,
I have recently installed PT 6.4.1 on my dual-boot G4, just now getting my feet wet with OSX.3. Yesterday for the first time I tried to do some MIDI work in PT 6.4.1, having not previously run the MIDI studio setup. I am running a Motu MTP AV. It is running off a Griffin G4Port serial adapter card. (It works like a charm under OS9). I downloaded and installed all the appropriate OSX drivers from the Griffin website, but I cannot get the PT Midi setup process to see my interface. Is there a step that I am missing? If I install the correct drivers for the G4Port, then PT should be able to see the serial port, correct?
Is there anything I can do to get this interface running under OSX and PT 6.4.1. I do not want to buy a new MIDI interface. Thanks - Steve

(p.s. I'm stuck with this version of PT, since I'm running Mix cards...)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:10 AM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Griffin G4Port serial MIDI interface on OSX PT

create a multi poirt device in the griffin utility then that will show up in AMS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:47 AM
knewbee knewbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 284
Default Re: Griffin G4Port serial MIDI interface on OSX PT

Cool. Thanks for this. But where is this Griffin utility thing? What's it called? I didn't see that it installed anything except the driver, and I didn't see any kind of utility download on the Griffin site...?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:31 PM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Griffin G4Port serial MIDI interface on OSX PT

it might be an application but it's there if not then I would check your install disk if you have it. I'll have to check when i get home but it is required in order to be able to define a multi port device in AMS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:38 PM
drumbar drumbar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 40
Default Re: Griffin G4Port serial MIDI interface on OSX PT?

I think s its on the Griffin website. It is a separate application that will allow you to create an interface which AMS will see.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will 002 work with g4Port serial adapter in OS9? JoeM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-08-2010 01:50 AM
Griffin g4Port stable in 001 & PTLE 6.4-OSX 10.3? JoeM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-26-2005 10:00 AM
Griffin G4Port supported in OS X? 1150Post Post - Surround - Video 4 11-11-2003 05:58 PM
What's prefered for G4 serial MIDI:GeeThree Stealth Port or Griffin g4Port ? JoeM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-22-2002 09:31 AM
Griffin g4Port or GeeThree StealthPort? iris-audio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-05-2002 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com