Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2019, 09:25 AM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 402
Default Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

Hi everyone. Apologies if this has been asked before. I can't find any threads recent enough to confirm this specifically for Ultimate or non-Ultimate.

According to this comparison chart non-Ultimate version will provide 1 video TRACK only.

However, I can't find info that would confirm whether that single track can take multiple video FILES or not.

Your input is always appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2019, 09:29 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,754
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

You are only able to have one single active video file in your PT session (you can keep others in the bin, just not in the edit window). You can't even place a 2nd one later in the timeline of that video track. It's sort of a ridiculous limitation, but that's a primary way that they're able to add "value" to PT Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2019, 09:37 AM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

Thanks Eric, your answer is very appreciated and I do agree that it looks as a ridiculous limitation.

The ability to import multiple video files to the bin and then dropping one at a time as needed could be a quick workaround. Still I'm thinking that sometimes I may have to be working with 10 or more clips to be dubbed and jump from one to another, so I'm thinking this workaround may not be the best for such situations.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2019, 09:43 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,782
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

True, however vanilla PT can open a session created by Ultimate with however many video clips on a single video track and playback fine. You just can't change anything. As soon, as you import another video with vanilla the video track will be wiped.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.5
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2019, 10:35 AM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

Thanks for the tip Meads. I'll still need Ultimate as I will be importing multiple video clips to my timeline and moving them around.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2019, 09:54 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,754
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixaudio View Post
Thanks Eric, your answer is very appreciated and I do agree that it looks as a ridiculous limitation.

The ability to import multiple video files to the bin and then dropping one at a time as needed could be a quick workaround. Still I'm thinking that sometimes I may have to be working with 10 or more clips to be dubbed and jump from one to another, so I'm thinking this workaround may not be the best for such situations.

Thanks again!
We have composers who use vanilla with their home rigs and their biggest complaint is exactly what you're discussing. It's not uncommon for them to use multiple videos in one session and their solution is dragging them from the bin as necessary, but they've come to truly loathe this process.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2019, 11:12 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

I'm sitting at an HD rig right now ... but in vanilla, would it be possible to make playlists of the video track & just put each video onto a separate playlist?
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2019, 07:37 AM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 402
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

EGS, that's an interesting question. I don't have Pro Tools 12 vanilla. My original question was because I currently have PT 11 HD software and trying to decide whether upgrading to Ultimate or vanilla, depending on this capability.

To be honest, I didn't even know that you can create multiple playlists in a video track in HD. I'm just looking at it now.

If this is also available on PT 12 vanilla, that could be a good workaround for working with multiple video clips. Still, I don't know whether you could import multiple clips onto the bin or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2019, 08:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,337
Default Re: Import more than 1 video file with Pro Tools non-Ultimate

With one file in edit window limitation I doubt that you have success
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12.7 won't import or show me a video file. SteveGarman Pro Tools 12 2 03-22-2019 08:40 AM
Help!! Can't import the selected video file. (Pro Tools 8) elsterNJ Post - Surround - Video 2 10-27-2010 06:22 PM
IMPORT VIDEO ERROR Audio FILE alx002 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-01-2008 12:31 PM
ProTools HD 7.4 - Can't import video file. HELP!!!!!! jayprotools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-09-2008 05:16 PM
can't import video file into the session.... EminTR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-24-2007 09:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com