Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2014, 05:53 AM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default direct out (post delay) recording question

Hi!

I'd like to know if it is possible to record out of the direct out to protools post input delay setting but pre eq/hpf/dyn/fader...

anybody knows, work arounds will be appreciated as well!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2014, 10:57 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: direct out (post delay) recording question

Hi,

The input delay comes after the top of channel pickoff point, and before the insert return pickoff point, so this isn't directly possible. But here's one workaround...

Patch the same input to two channels. Match the input delays on both channels. EQ, compress, process one channel as you normally would - this is the "wet" channel. Leave the second channel untouched (expect for delay) and send the Insert Return pick off to Pro Tools.

Alternately, make note of the input delay values on the channels and use these values to shift the tracks in Pro Tools. Same effect.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2014, 12:18 PM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default Re: direct out (post delay) recording question

thanks, i'll try both but i guess i will go for the "set the track delay in protools" way as this is totally reversible if something goes wrong.

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2014, 08:10 PM
ivanbatata ivanbatata is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: brazil
Posts: 1
Default Re: recording question

Hi everybody.

by the way, I wonder if there is the option to recorder to equalize, in S3L
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what are you post users doing about QT 2 sec delay issue? alw4416 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-20-2008 09:01 AM
Another delay compensation post (i'm sorry!) planetkeys Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-14-2006 12:59 PM
direct recording , line 6 or direct box? dannypassenger General Discussion 3 01-12-2005 08:17 PM
plug delay in tv post player Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-09-2003 08:48 AM
What's the best BASS direct box direct to PT recording dw Tips & Tricks 18 05-13-2000 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com