Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:21 PM
Chewits Chewits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default Help with MBox and XP

EDIT : NVM I am an idiot. I was turning the headphone output and not the playback. lol. been a while since i used it.. However i now have new problem..

I want to use my MBox as the defaul sound for playack on my PC.

When I play back a song say in itunes on my PC, the sound is all stuttery. its really bad! I do not understand why??? SOunds all glitchy and stuttery. Its unlistenable. Help much appreciate!

Mbox
WIN XP SP 2
AMD 1.2
368 ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:47 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Quote:
When I play back a song say in itunes on my PC, the sound is all stuttery. its really bad! I do not understand why??? SOunds all glitchy and stuttery. Its unlistenable. Help much appreciate!
This is because of a conflict with the wavedriver and the current version of Quicktime.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2007, 03:05 PM
Chewits Chewits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Ok. How can I fix??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2007, 03:06 PM
Chewits Chewits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Ok. How can I fix??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2007, 03:35 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

You have two options; you can try an older version of Quicktime (has worked for some) or you can pitch a fit to Apple (or Digidesign, depending on which company you blame) to fix it until you are blue in the face.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:49 AM
Chewits Chewits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Ah I see. Well Ok, for the mean time I have just uninstalled Quicktime/iTunes. SO I got my music playing back in winamp now after installign etc. However I now have another problem. When I play a computer game there is no sound. SO I ran dxdiag and it does not find the Mbox? Only see's the PCI soundcard which I am not using.

Help much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:53 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

You will need to add your game, and whatever other programs it uses for sound creation, to the wavedriver opt-in list using the MMEHelper.

Why do you want to use your mbox to play games?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2007, 12:24 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,831
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Quote:
Ah I see. Well Ok, for the mean time I have just uninstalled Quicktime/iTunes. SO I got my music playing back in winamp now after installign etc. However I now have another problem. When I play a computer game there is no sound. SO I ran dxdiag and it does not find the Mbox? Only see's the PCI soundcard which I am not using.

Help much appreciated!
I just posted on another thread on a similar subject so I thought I'd paste my post here as it seems appropriate:

Let's clarify this: The Digidesign interfaces are designed as recording and mixing devices and not intended as consummer sound cards. Stop expecting it to be. Someone was nice enough to write a wav driver FOR FREE. It works with some applications but NOT all. If iTunes or other incompatible applications are essential for people, don't use the Digidesign interface to play it. Use a standard consumer sound card.

Analogy time again: It is as if someone bought an airplane (designed to fly to its destination). The manufacturer thought it would be convienient to include wheels so the airplance can taxi to and from the terminals. The purchaser decides that since it has wheels, he'd like to drive the airplane on roadways. On some highways, perhaps the airplane can indeed be driven. There are some roads however that don't work for the airplane however. Should the purchaser complain to the airplane manufactured that their airplane doesn't work on these roads? Should the purchaser complain to the road builder that it doesn't work for his airplane?

The point is to get the right product for each function.
Airplane = Flying
Car = Roads
Protools = Digidesign Interface
iTunes = consummer sound card

You may total disagree and ignore my opinion on this and continue to try to make iTunes work with your Digidesign interface. It doesn't affect me one way of another. in fact, I wish you "good luck." You can try the MME Helper utility along with the wav driver to see if that helps.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2007, 01:55 PM
Chewits Chewits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

Thanks Spkgtuitar. I am looking into that now.

As for Obsidian. Man wtf. No need for the hostile response. Let me explain why I am using. I bought my Mbox years ago with LE. i now have UPGRADED to the project mix controller whcih i use and is brilliant. So i donnt use the mbox. The reason I am using the MBOX is becasue it has two 1/4" output (which can connect to nice M-audio bx8 speaker monitors) which most consumer cards do not have. i paid good money for my mbox and I see no reason why it cannot be used for playback on other devices. Thankfully someone has written free software.

So please. dont give me a lecture.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:18 PM
snowjiber snowjiber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 40
Default Re: Help with MBox and XP

I don't think he was being too harsh. He was just explaining what recording devices are meant to be used for. It's kind of frustrating that people go out and buy recording gear and expect it to be able to do things it wasn't intended to do. Then they come on here and argue that Digidesign is a bad company for not doing anything wrong.

Digidesign audio devices are made for recording, composing, mixing, and mastering and thats about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated Mac Drivers for Mbox, Mbox Pro and Fast Track Ultra now available Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-30-2012 04:24 PM
Mbox mix knob always plays a drum track,Mbox 2 and Pro-tools LE 8: Haezel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2011 02:58 AM
Digi Tech Suppport? Pfft!!! Mbox/Mbox academic Questions WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 01:03 PM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 08:18 PM
Mbox - Routing the computers audio through the mbox ie. CD Rom, system sounds brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 03:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com