Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2017, 02:29 PM
bitconductor bitconductor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Latency recording stems

I'm noticing approximately a 980 sample lag in the stereo files I'm recording in a session. I've got delay compensation on, and I'm not seeing any numbers in red in the delay compensation panels under the tracks in the mix window.
Hardware buffer size is set to the max, 1024 samples.
I've trashed the prefs.
The files are bus stems from a mix. 48k, 24-bit.
If I record a stereo file in a new session with no plug-ins, recording a track from audio playing on another track (either directly from a send or via a bus) there's no latency at all.
Has anyone got any ideas about this? It's a pain as I'm having to trim the files before delivering them.
Thanks.
---
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
Processor 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.2
Pro Tools 12.7.1
Blackmagic Ultrastudio Mini Monitor (Thunderbolt 2)
Avid Artist Mix (Thunderbolt 2 > Ethernet cable)
Nugen Loudness
iZotope RX6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2017, 03:43 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,756
Default Re: Latency recording stems

Could there be plugins on the bus stems .. not sure exactly how you are routing to your bus stems .. can you be more specific please !!
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2017, 06:39 AM
bitconductor bitconductor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Re: Latency recording stems

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
Could there be plugins on the bus stems .. not sure exactly how you are routing to your bus stems .. can you be more specific please !!
Hi,
Thanks - I'm using a lot of plug-ins both on audio tracks and on aux busses. The stems get recorded from via their respective mix busses to further 'thru' busses (that have the same limiters as on the master output busses), then to audio tracks which record the stems themselves. The audio tracks that record the stems are free of any plug-ins. Hope this is understandable.
I was under the impression delay compensation took care of all this!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2017, 11:20 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,558
Default Re: Latency recording stems

Master Faders' Inserts are not compensated for by ADC FYI. Always been this way.

In case it applies here. I haven't read everything in detail, just throwing this out there as a reminder.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2017, 06:47 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
Default Re: Latency recording stems

This is probably your fix. Hope it helps!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRIxvpdZ5Rs

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2019.12/2018 Mac Mini 3.2ghz 6-core i7/32GB RAM/Aja T-Tap/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Sonnet chassis/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2017, 07:22 AM
bitconductor bitconductor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Re: Latency recording stems

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixboy bob View Post
This is probably your fix. Hope it helps!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRIxvpdZ5Rs

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
Thanks Rob, but right-clicking Auto Low Latency Off on the audio tracks that record the stems is not fixing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2017, 07:23 AM
bitconductor bitconductor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Re: Latency recording stems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Master Faders' Inserts are not compensated for by ADC FYI. Always been this way.

In case it applies here. I haven't read everything in detail, just throwing this out there as a reminder.
Thanks Drew, but I'm not using Master Fader tracks at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Stems confused bryced87 Getting Started 4 11-05-2013 11:04 AM
Recording Stems Simultaneously sfreiman Post - Surround - Video 4 12-01-2010 09:38 AM
Work Around: Re-recording stems while layingback to SR Deck Karl Kalbaugh Post - Surround - Video 9 12-10-2008 01:26 PM
re-recording stems & bus latency bignick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-10-2006 08:10 PM
Recording Stems into Pro Tools filmixer Post - Surround - Video 13 08-16-2004 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com