Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:24 PM
realestninja realestninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default DIGI DESIGN 002 /W APOGEE 16X AD/DA

Someone told me that a Digidesign 002 will always require something called a Apogee 16X AD/DA
What is the purpose of this? Why did this gentleman tell me to get a $4000 a piece hardware on my digi002 when the digi002 will work without the apogee 16x ad/da


Thanks again guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2007, 12:14 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: DIGI DESIGN 002 /W APOGEE 16X AD/DA

The 002 will NOT support the 16X series of the Apogee coverters. It will support the Rosetta series however. The 800 (8 channels) and the 200 (2 channels). The 16X A/D and 16X D/A are both 18 channel conveters. Digital to Analog and Analog to Digital. The 002 will only support up to 8 channels of digital so the 16 series is pointless. Now, the Rosetta is a great piece of gear and used to utilize all 8 digital I/O on the 002. I use one to run my highend pre's etc. It is a GREAT piece. Honestly though it sounds like you are new tot he game, so I recommend learning your gear that you have now before jumping into the new converter realm. It is an expensive purchase that is worth it, but if you do not have a lot of outboard gear then save and wait until you need it.

May be off, but that is what I am thinking seeing how you asked the question.


Read here to learn a bit more:

ROSETTA 800

Best,

Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2007, 05:43 AM
realestninja realestninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: DIGI DESIGN 002 /W APOGEE 16X AD/DA

I went back and looked at his studio pictures and they do not look like Rosetta 800s. They look like 16X. By the way what does a converter do, do i even need one? does it make the sound sexy? that's probably my only idae.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: DIGI DESIGN 002 /W APOGEE 16X AD/DA

First, stop listening to the guy that gave you this bogus info in the first posting as he is not your friend and doesn't know what he's talking about. Back to the questions, a converter is the device that COMNVERTS the signal from one domain to another. A/D converters, convert from Analog to Digital. D/A converters do the reverse. To record digital audio, you need an A/D converter to get a digital signal into the computer and a D/A converter to get it back out to your speakers. Converters come in several levels of quality(just like everything else). Great converters yeild better sound than cheap converters(all other parts of the chain being equal). Your audio quality is only as good as the worst piece in the chain. i.e. running a behringer mic pre into an Apogee converter will not sound as good as a NEVE pre thru the same converter. There are some great books to start your learning.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2007, 06:37 AM
roundmosound roundmosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Harborcreek, PA.
Posts: 63
Default Re: DIGI DESIGN 002 /W APOGEE 16X AD/DA

I use an Alesis AI-3 for the 8 digital channels and it works very well for my situation. I think they're around $350 - $400 bucks. You only need one if you have a need to record more than 8 channels at a time.
__________________
Mike Miller/Norwegian Wood
www.nwrstudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIGI 003 + Apogee Ensemble + Apogee Big Ben = World Clock marcioguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-11-2011 02:24 PM
Digi Design 001 conniewhitlock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-09-2009 10:15 PM
digi design need to... 16yearsjeff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-14-2003 12:39 PM
Digi Design 001 with XP or.. P-Loc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-21-2002 04:22 AM
HOW CAN DIGI DESIGN....... toadiesXJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 08-06-2002 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com