Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:58 AM
Haraldur Haraldur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Default Playing live with a click track

Hi my band is realising a record later this year and we want to use some of the tracks from the PT sessions when we play live. What is the best way to do that? Everything is recorded with the click track plugin in PT.

I would rather not bring my ProTools setup to a live gig so what can we do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2004, 05:58 AM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: Playing live with a click track

Well you can always burn stereo mixes of the cuts you want to use to CD and do it that way.You will of course have to leave counts at the beginnings of each tune.You can keep the counts low so it's not that obvious to the audience.
If you want to use multitracks at the live show you will have to have something to play them with.If you had a standalone DAW you could export the tracks from PT's as .wav files and mix them into your live mix that way.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2004, 06:22 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Playing live with a click track

Haraldur ,

Yep, just as Bazzle said. Audio CD's are the easiest and probly the most reliable solution, with one drawback. The click is always there, and it's level will not be controllable. Your drummer always needs more.
Just a couple of months back I did a live playback tape for my friend's band.
We went from analog multitrack source master ( very quick stem mix ) to his 4 track "porta studio",
like this;
1-2) stereo BG's / pwr gtrs/ synth pads
3)mono full mix just in case...
4)click track with 2 bars count off

it worked great.
good luck,
cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:57 AM
Bobbi Tube Bobbi Tube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 36
Default Re: Playing live with a click track

Hello Haraldur! Your name suggests you are from Iceland, am I right?

Anyway, I've been using a playback for live gigs which is a mix from the tracks I recorded for my last album on DIGI 001.

What I did was after I had mixed the tracks and released the album I saved a new copy of each song which I used for the playback mix.

I simply muted the tracks I didn't want on the playback, panned the ones I wanted hard-left and created a click track which was panned hard-right. This only gives you a mono playback for FOH but the drummer has to listen to the click-track as well in his headphones. I've found this to be a sufficient solution for me playing the small clubs of Iceland (50-400 people). The playback normally includes: loopes (perc, strange drums etc.), synth and back-vox.

I then normally use a mini-disk when playing back, it's a bit less vulnerably to vibration than CD-players.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:47 AM
GothicV GothicV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 654
Default Re: Playing live with a click track

this is where a $300 blackface adat from ebay comes in very, very useful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Click track playing at super fast tempo jimmylee Pro Tools 10 2 07-12-2012 06:20 PM
Click track playing back when muted. ericsvizeny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-31-2011 09:10 AM
Click track only playing on the first beat of a measure theaero Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 05-03-2008 11:41 AM
Click track(s) not playing back properly Blueswah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-08-2007 06:06 AM
OT - How do I go about playing with a click live? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-25-2005 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com