Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2016, 08:46 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,068
Default Drag from Browser/finder error

When dragging a specific SFX from workspace OR finder window I get an "Unknown error". If I do "Import Audio" it works fine. Other SFX/files drag fine. Seems to be relegated to a specific batch of SFX I have.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.3, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2017, 03:45 AM
bitconductor bitconductor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Posts: 11
Default Re: Drag from Browser/finder error

Same problem here.
Any ideas?
The files that produce the 'unknown error' are mono, often with the same file format, sample rate and bit depth as the session.
I've trashed all the prefs.

---
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
Processor 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.2
Pro Tools 12.7.1
Blackmagic Ultrastudio Mini Monitor (Thunderbolt 2)
Avid Artist Mix (Thunderbolt 2 > Ethernet cable)
Nugen Loudness
iZotope RX6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2017, 05:37 AM
Inglesworth Inglesworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Drag from Browser/finder error

It's possible that there is a field of Metadata somewhere that may be incorrect.

I have some SFX files that I know are stereo, but when I drag them into the timeline via workspace, I get a mono, offline clip, and I get the relink dialog box that pops up saying it can't find the audio file, etc. Thing is, if I drag these files in straight from the Finder, it works just fine.

I was able to trace my problem down to the fact that the channels in the stereo file in these SFX are labelled as "A1, A 2" (notice the space in A 2). This is causing some kind of freakout in PT when importing them using the workspace browser. I even notified the companies (I actually found the same exact problem in 2-3 of my libraries) and they didn't seem very interested in actually doing anything to fix it on their end . One of them gave me a coupon code for 50% off my next order with them, though. It might be worth taking a look through your library's metadata and see if there is something wrong there.

On that note, does anyone know of a way to modify specific sets of metadata? I can run the files through barbabatch and it makes the files work fine in the workspace, but I lose all the metadata on these files, and a lot of it is actually kind of useful, so I am still resorting to previewing in the workspace, then doing a right-click, show in Finder and dragging in that way. Bit if there's a way to edit specific sets of metadata, that would be awesome.

EDIT: I also noticed that my particular problem exists in PT12, but it did not exist with these same files in PT10, FWIW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drag and Drop issue from Finder into PT 11 bear0328 Pro Tools 11 4 07-13-2015 12:30 AM
Can't drag audio files from Workspace browser of finder. soundkurt Post - Surround - Video 4 02-18-2015 12:06 PM
Drag from Browser error [resolved] bear0328 Pro Tools 11 3 02-16-2015 05:52 AM
Drag and copy from finder jjohns39 macOS 0 11-19-2011 10:26 AM
PT7 - drag and drop from Finder to bin houser Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-15-2006 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com