Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2020, 01:06 PM
EVaschon EVaschon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 9
Default Syncing imported audio clips

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!
I've been trying to sync an incredibly simple snare drum roll that is in 1/16th beat tempo to my existing project and everything that I read and find on YouTube tells me how to sync the ("track") to the music clip. Isn't that backwards? I want to sync the music clip to the existing track, not the other way around. If I do that, I'll be re-syncing the entire project to each and every new music clip I import. Surely, that can't be right.

I have tried the stupid "Beat Detector" (which seems to do nothing). I've watch the same stupid YouTube videos over and over, carefully trying to make certain that I haven't forgot a step and the end result is always the same - friggin nothing happens! This is my third weekend in a row just trying to figure out this one stupid thing. Can anyone help me since 90% of the time I will be importing pre-recorded instrument clips into Pro Tools and trying to sync them rather than trying to play every instrument.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2020, 04:19 PM
Led Led is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 315
Default Re: Syncing imported audio clips

You can use the tempo grid - put the snapping into slip mode, zoom in on the roll wav and trim the head right up to the very first audio, click on the clip and hit X. Put your snapping into grid mode, click at the beat you want the snare and hit V.

If it's not spot on, or isn't a tempo dependent thing just put the snapping into slip mode, and zoom in and move the clip around with the mouse till it sounds right. You can also set the nudge value up in the time display window to say 10 milliseconds and use < and > to nudge it earlier or later, then when it's really close change the nudge value to 1 millisecond to really fine tune.
Go by ear, things can look right and sound wrong.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2020, 06:03 PM
EVaschon EVaschon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Syncing imported audio clips

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
You can use the tempo grid - put the snapping into slip mode, zoom in on the roll wav and trim the head right up to the very first audio, click on the clip and hit X. Put your snapping into grid mode, click at the beat you want the snare and hit V.

If it's not spot on, or isn't a tempo dependent thing just put the snapping into slip mode, and zoom in and move the clip around with the mouse till it sounds right. You can also set the nudge value up in the time display window to say 10 milliseconds and use < and > to nudge it earlier or later, then when it's really close change the nudge value to 1 millisecond to really fine tune.
Go by ear, things can look right and sound wrong.
Andy, thank you for your response. I do appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Imported audio not moving into audio folder Nilreb Pro Tools 12 10 01-05-2020 01:25 AM
44.1 or 48 if audio is imported? audiofreak11 Pro Tools 10 9 06-05-2013 08:33 PM
Imported Audio Duplicating sweetambition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-09-2011 12:24 AM
syncing click to an imported track abbiehuxley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-17-2008 08:15 AM
Imported Audio Syncing??? ronev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-29-2003 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com