Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2020, 02:07 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 170
Default Autotune slow down Sessions

I`m using a lot of autotune in my session - usually on all the background vocals - that`s usually 25-30 tracks in a session
as soon as I start to use them and I have more than 6-7 the whole session gets super slow and I get the spinning wheel after more or less every action I`m doing which makes it impossible to work - freeze of course solves it but then I can`t re-arrange the backings and I have to un-freeze and re-freeze everytime I want to move the backings which is super annoying..
anyone else having problems with autotune (especially the UAD version..)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2020, 12:13 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: Autotune slow down Sessions

Computer specs?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2020, 01:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,750
Default Re: Autotune slow down Sessions

Instead of track freeze, use track commit. Or better yet, put AutoTune in the first insert slot, and then right-click on the plugin and choose "Commit up to this insert".
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2020, 02:38 PM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 170
Default Re: Autotune slow down Sessions

yeah but I don`t want to commit - usually I turn on the knobs on my autotune while I`m working on a song.. you guys don`t ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2020, 02:40 PM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 170
Default Re: Autotune slow down Sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Computer specs?
latest mac mini i9 with SSD and 32GB ram, 10.14.6, latest protools

this machine is rock stable and super fast until I use lots auf autotune plugs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2020, 02:46 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,402
Default Re: Autotune slow down Sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown_BE View Post
yeah but I don`t want to commit - usually I turn on the knobs on my autotune while I`m working on a song.. you guys don`t ?
I don't - I use Melodyne and fine tune each track separately from the start to be done with it - I used to use AutoTune and basically did the same thing. The "Auto" setting on those plugins is good enough for a rough mix - but it's rare when it gets everything perfect, but it does work better with a good singer. I'd rather be in control knowing the pitch has been corrected, not relying on the plugin to get things "mostly" right. But then I guess it depends on what you're trying to do with it - I work with mostly rock/country/gospel that doesn't use a lot of the Autotune gimmicks you hear in pop and hip-hop nowadays, so once the track is tuned, I'm done with pitch correction processing.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow startup / Slow opening sessions MrSoliman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-21-2018 12:45 AM
AutoTune 5 Crashing Pro-Tools loading older sessions KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-16-2010 02:19 PM
PT 9 sessions slow Empireofthesun Pro Tools 9 8 11-05-2010 07:33 PM
Antares AutoTune 4 Native + Old System = Slow Performance??? ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2007 06:26 AM
Slow Opening Sessions gg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-22-2003 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com