Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2011, 11:11 PM
DJ FADE DJ FADE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 176
Default Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

I have an 8-core Mac Pro from early 2008 (2 x 2.8ghz quad cores).

I am currently running PT10 (NOT hd, NOT hd native).

I have issues tracking anything at low buffer settings once plug in counts go up.

I would like to be able to track WITH plugins on the tracks, and come back AFTER a mix to punch in to record parts (which I can not currently do unless I make several tracks inactive). For those on HD Native with newer Mac Pro's - can you track with plugins on at low buffer settings tp keep latency low?

Should I upgrade my Mac Pro and get HD Native, or keep my computer and get HDX?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2011, 02:31 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ FADE View Post
I have an 8-core Mac Pro from early 2008 (2 x 2.8ghz quad cores).

I am currently running PT10 (NOT hd, NOT hd native).

I have issues tracking anything at low buffer settings once plug in counts go up.

I would like to be able to track WITH plugins on the tracks, and come back AFTER a mix to punch in to record parts (which I can not currently do unless I make several tracks inactive). For those on HD Native with newer Mac Pro's - can you track with plugins on at low buffer settings tp keep latency low?

Should I upgrade my Mac Pro and get HD Native, or keep my computer and get HDX?
When you say early 2008 do you have a 1.1, 2.1 or a 3.1?

HDX will only work with Nehalem processors forward.. (2009 if I recall). They will not work with Clovertown or Harpertown.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:18 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Correct. If you want HDX, you will have to upgrade your computer.

If you go HD Native, your current one will work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2011, 12:59 PM
DJ FADE DJ FADE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 176
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
When you say early 2008 do you have a 1.1, 2.1 or a 3.1?

HDX will only work with Nehalem processors forward.. (2009 if I recall). They will not work with Clovertown or Harpertown.
good info to know! thanks for the heads up. any idea how well the current 2008 mac pro will perform with native?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2011, 07:16 PM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ FADE View Post
good info to know! thanks for the heads up. any idea how well the current 2008 mac pro will perform with native?
I posted about my install experience with HD Native and the 2008 Harpertown (3,1) Mac Pro in this thread. Here's the link: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=309494&page=4
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2011, 10:54 PM
cmaynes cmaynes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burbank,CA,USA
Posts: 715
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

I have a single quadcore 3.1 Harpertown which runs just fine with PT10HD and an HD Native card....

get lots of ram- it makes all the difference in the world.
__________________
charles maynes
sound design and recording for film and media
818 618 0580

Member IATSE Local 700, MPSE, ATAS, NRA & USMCHC.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2011, 09:14 AM
meech meech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaynes View Post
I have a single quadcore 3.1 Harpertown which runs just fine with PT10HD and an HD Native card....

get lots of ram- it makes all the difference in the world.

Did you have any trouble when you first installed the Native card? Drumster posted that with his Hapertown mac pro it took hours of attempts and firmware resets (and a kernel panic!) before it worked. I'm possibly going to get the Native card within the next week to replace my HD 2 Accel system, so it'd be great to know the experience of multiple people using the 3,1 Mac Pros.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:28 AM
DJ FADE DJ FADE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 176
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumster View Post
I posted about my install experience with HD Native and the 2008 Harpertown (3,1) Mac Pro in this thread. Here's the link: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=309494&page=4
thank you for posting - i pulled the trigger on hd native and hd i/o.. wish me luck
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:29 AM
DJ FADE DJ FADE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 176
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
When you say early 2008 do you have a 1.1, 2.1 or a 3.1?

HDX will only work with Nehalem processors forward.. (2009 if I recall). They will not work with Clovertown or Harpertown.
how do i find out if i have 1.1, 2.1, or 3.1?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2011, 11:34 AM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native?

"About This Mac" under the Apple in the top-left part of your screen.

Then click on "More Info..."
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 10 with Harpertown (early 2008) Mac Pro? Dags macOS 26 10-13-2017 05:43 AM
PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 IslandStylee04 Pro Tools 11 56 07-31-2014 04:22 PM
Early 2008 PT11 and mavericks postprosound macOS 8 04-13-2014 05:34 PM
HD3 PCIe in Mac Pro 3,1 early 2008 tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 04-27-2013 01:41 AM
HDX on early 2008 Mac Pro 8 Core.... no go ? :-( Zownd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 12-27-2011 04:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com