Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2012, 08:40 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 712
Default 2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4???

Hi there,

I have a 2008 Harpertown MacPro (Harpertown Xeon 3.0 X5472), 2 x quad core processor, working with my HD3 accel system.
The computer works verry well and is solid, it can take a lot of precessing.

I could change this computer for a 2010 Westmere (Xeon 2.4ghz), 2 x quand core. Would i gain some "native" processing power even if processors are slower?
I know speed is not the only thing when it comes to processor, but if someone here knows these two computers, i would like to have your opinion on this.

By the way, i want to make the move in order to upgrade to HDX in a near future.

Thanks!

Luc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:57 PM
ilulilu888 ilulilu888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dreamland
Posts: 304
Default Re: 2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4???

hey dude , i was in the same boat - i had a 2008 harper-town - Quad 2.8 Mac pro , and i wanted to go HDX - so i bought a new 2X2.4 2010 west-mere Mac Pro and sold my old Harper-town.
before upgrading to the HDX i had a week to try out My old HD3 accel system on the new Mac - and i there was no doubt that the i had much more native power ....
i know that your harper-town has 2 processors , but the 2010 mac pro's are faster due to the faster Ram chips an better Processor , you can check www.everymac.com to see exactly both machines and compare them.

i can vow - however that now with the HDX card on the new Mac pro everything works much better and snappier - and i swear that even the native side works better since i went HDX

if you are interested in going HDX in the very near future - you would rather get the current West mere Machines , cause once the 2013 new designed Mac pro's are your harper town would lose 50% of it's current worth (which is already not that high....) and although - i am a mac lover - i never take any new machines first generation ....i always wait at least a year before upgrading to a newer technology - cause i don't wanna be anyone's beta tester...that is the reason i took a "new 2010" Mac pro a month ago...instead of waiting for the new ones.
__________________
Pro Tools 12HD
HDX 1
Avid HD 8x8x8
Avid Omni HD
MacPro 2.4 Xeon 8 core 24Giga
UAD-2 And most of the UAD plugins
All AAX DSP and Native Plugins (all most)
Tons of Hardware...:)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2012, 06:14 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 712
Default Re: 2008 Harpertown quad 3.0 to 2010 Westmere quad 2.4???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilulilu888 View Post
hey dude , i was in the same boat - i had a 2008 harper-town - Quad 2.8 Mac pro , and i wanted to go HDX - so i bought a new 2X2.4 2010 west-mere Mac Pro and sold my old Harper-town.
before upgrading to the HDX i had a week to try out My old HD3 accel system on the new Mac - and i there was no doubt that the i had much more native power ....
i know that your harper-town has 2 processors , but the 2010 mac pro's are faster due to the faster Ram chips an better Processor , you can check www.everymac.com to see exactly both machines and compare them.

i can vow - however that now with the HDX card on the new Mac pro everything works much better and snappier - and i swear that even the native side works better since i went HDX

if you are interested in going HDX in the very near future - you would rather get the current West mere Machines , cause once the 2013 new designed Mac pro's are your harper town would lose 50% of it's current worth (which is already not that high....) and although - i am a mac lover - i never take any new machines first generation ....i always wait at least a year before upgrading to a newer technology - cause i don't wanna be anyone's beta tester...that is the reason i took a "new 2010" Mac pro a month ago...instead of waiting for the new ones.
Hi Ilulilu,

Thanks for the info and the links, verry good information!

Cheers,

Luc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a used 2008/9 Mac Pro Quad Core a good investment? DJ Hellfire Tips & Tricks 18 09-10-2013 07:26 AM
Will 2008 Quad Core Harpertown Mac Pro work with HDX card ? karljohnson macOS 16 10-25-2011 12:33 PM
Mac Pro 2010 2.8 GHz Quad Core vs. 2008 2.8 GHz 8-Core audiosf macOS 3 04-07-2011 02:27 PM
Attention Mac Pro Quad 2.8 Harpertown Users tomdiek macOS 1 12-19-2010 01:19 PM
Two 2.8GHz HELP, PLEASE!!!!! Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Harpertown” processors LaForestPoetry18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-07-2008 06:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com