Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:14 AM
fsb1 fsb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany, Hamburg
Posts: 99
Default LE with MP

Hi,

maybe it's always discussed many times but the search function gives me no answer.

I'm on LE 8.04 with Eleven Rack. To record up to 16 tracks, I've get MP and 2626, which comes on DVD with 8.03. Starting the installer of MP 8.03 it quits because the LE installation is "not compatible"....

My workaround is to move LE to a save place, install MP 8.03, update to 8.04 after installation and move back LE to it's old place. Both programs are working. But.... what could get wrong with this workaround? I've checked all Digi plugs and it looks like they work.

What's with future updates? MP before LE?

Any requests?
__________________
Mix + Control, Studio One V2 Professionel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:54 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: LE with MP

I think You don´t need LE to run Eleven Rack! It shoudl work with any CoreAudio Driver (like the 2626)
You can install both MP and LE on the same system if the have the same Version Revision e.g. LE 8.0.3 you can only install MP 8.0.3.

SO this suggests installing the lower Revision first then update it then install the other newer Version. At least this worked since V7.x.
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2010, 05:01 AM
WarrenBeat WarrenBeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Zaragoza
Posts: 13
Default Re: LE with MP

You can't use Eleven Rack as an audio interface in M-Powered. I know it because I've tried it. You can use your 2626 as your main interface and use the Eleven Rack Line in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:56 AM
fsb1 fsb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany, Hamburg
Posts: 99
Default Re: LE with MP

You can load and save the ER sounds in MP like in LE.

Yes, audio must be "wired" from ER to your MP interface, which is not comfortable for me.

I wonder, why M-Powered did not support LE interfaces
__________________
Mix + Control, Studio One V2 Professionel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:20 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: LE with MP

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsb1 View Post
You can load and save the ER sounds in MP like in LE.

Yes, audio must be "wired" from ER to your MP interface, which is not comfortable for me.
That´s what i meant. My Fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsb1 View Post
I wonder, why M-Powered did not support LE interfaces
because they use AVIDS own special drivers for hardware designed by AVID. And they want to make sure MP does not get the software options LE has.

With all the rebranding, this might change as the new MBox 3, as it is supposed to have drivers by M-Audio - which means finally stable drivers compatible with CoreAudio are possible.
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com