Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2341  
Old 05-02-2010, 05:48 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

You know what I just realized? My current stu computer is gonna be replacing my old P4 family computer. But remember, I'm taking my current Q6600 and swapping it to the new build. So I have to buy another LGA 775 processor anyway. So what would you guys get in the $150-180 range, a lower end Quad, or beefed up Duo?
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2342  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:26 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
You know what I just realized? My current stu computer is gonna be replacing my old P4 family computer. But remember, I'm taking my current Q6600 and swapping it to the new build. So I have to buy another LGA 775 processor anyway. So what would you guys get in the $150-180 range, a lower end Quad, or beefed up Duo?
My local Microcenter has had the E7400 on sale for 99.00 for some time and I have built a few desktops with it. Its a very snappy little processor. If the new computer is only going to be used for desktop chores than a dual core is just fine. About the only benefit you would see from a Quad core would be if you used to trans code a lot of video. If you going to throw a fast video card in it and do some gaming then a faster processor would be a bonus.

A more important question would be "What processor will your old computer take". A lot of OEM machines have a locked down proprietary BIOS and it may not recognize a newer or different chip. You might want to look around a for a Q6600, Q9550, or Q9450 for the new build and just leave the old one be. It would be smart to go to the manufacturers web page for your old computer and see if it was offered with any optional processors.

Its been my experience that as long as its a dual core and its over 2GHz that theres no real difference between a dual core and a quad for surfing the web, reading email, watching videos on youtube etc.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2343  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:46 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
You might want to look around a for a Q6600, Q9550, or Q9450 for the new build and just leave the old one be. It would be smart to go to the manufacturers web page for your old computer and see if it was offered with any optional processors.
That's what I am really leaning towards.

As for my old mobo, I don't know what other processors it can use, but I planned on sticking with Intel only. I figured any LGA 775 Intel chip would work.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2344  
Old 05-02-2010, 10:37 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
That's what I am really leaning towards.

As for my old mobo, I don't know what other processors it can use, but I planned on sticking with Intel only. I figured any LGA 775 Intel chip would work.
Its likely that any Intel CPU thats of the same vintage as your board will work along with any older Intel socket 775 processors. Some newer ones might work and just not be recognised properly, it's a bit of a crap shoot. This is one of the advantages of a DIY build since ASUS, Gigabyte and the others list what CPU's are compatible on their websites.

The other thing is that any advice would be remiss with out mentioning that if your buying a new CPU, Motherboard, DDR3 RAM and a PSU that you really might be better off returning the socket 775 stuff if you can and grabing a i7 930.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2345  
Old 05-02-2010, 11:45 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post

The other thing is that any advice would be remiss with out mentioning that if your buying a new CPU, Motherboard, DDR3 RAM and a PSU that you really might be better off returning the socket 775 stuff if you can and grabing a i7 930.

No i7 at the moment for me. I priced it out and it would have been almost $400 more than I spent, which was already a little over my planned spending. I will probably get the i7 later this year, hopefully if the prices come down a bit.

Anyway, I just went to a local shop and picked up an 8300. There is no thermal paste in the box. Is that normal? When I built the i7, I could have sworn it came with paste (but I can't remember if it was the mobo that included the paste). The back of the box says the package contains a processor and thermal solution.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2346  
Old 05-02-2010, 12:18 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
No i7 at the moment for me. I priced it out and it would have been almost $400 more than I spent, which was already a little over my planned spending. I will probably get the i7 later this year, hopefully if the prices come down a bit.

Anyway, I just went to a local shop and picked up an 8300. There is no thermal paste in the box. Is that normal? When I built the i7, I could have sworn it came with paste (but I can't remember if it was the mobo that included the paste). The back of the box says the package contains a processor and thermal solution.
There should be three strips of thermal goo across the bottom of the HFS (Heatsink Fan). Just remove the protective layer of plastic and install the heatsink. If the HSF is missing the thermal paste then you will need some arctic silver 5 or thermal compound. The stock Intel thermal compound is a one shot deal. If you need to remove the heatsink for any reason you will need to clean of the old goo with 91% alcohol and apply some new thermal compound. If your not close to a computer supply store I have used the stuff from Best Buy in a pinch and it works just fine. I think its called "Silver ceramic" or something like that.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #2347  
Old 05-02-2010, 12:34 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

OK yeah, I thought that's what the grey strips were. Just wasn't sure.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2348  
Old 05-02-2010, 01:26 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Also Sun, when Win7 64-bit is finally supported and approved, I will defintely make that i7 move!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2349  
Old 05-11-2010, 05:02 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,893
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Also Sun, when Win7 64-bit is finally supported and approved, I will defintely make that i7 move!
Yep, I'm still limpin' along on a Q9550 @ 3.4. Today on a really huge session I got above 50% CPU usage... OOOH scary.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2350  
Old 05-11-2010, 07:43 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Yep, I'm still limpin' along on a Q9550 @ 3.4. Today on a really huge session I got above 50% CPU usage... OOOH scary.
I just swapped my Q6600 back into my studio rig and added a CM V8 cooler. Gonna give overclocking to 3.0 or 3.2 a go. Put the Q8300 into my Inspiron 530 (which is now the fam computer) since I found hardly any overclocking lit on that processor.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6782 08-22-2019 05:00 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 05:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 02:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com