Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-07-2014, 04:22 PM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

That's really not the point mate. Doesn't matter how much I payed. The fact is, if I'd payed $1 it would still be a [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ty thing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-07-2014, 05:39 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Waves V8 will work in PT's 10 RTAS, and other AU, VST's
Just not AAX version 11 of Pro Tools.

2nd have Waves is shaky due to bootlegs as well as the steep transfer fee.

Good Luck. Maybe you had PayPal protection to get your many back.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:13 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,651
Default HELP! Waves V8

Just saying if you got it for cheap it's an easier pill to swallow
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-08-2014, 09:01 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Just saying if you got it for cheap it's an easier pill to swallow
Ye, I hear what you're saying my friend. And yes, you're correct.

Waves say that I need a license number and they can register it.

It's on my iLok though. This is what Waves sent me:

"We are unable to move a license out of someone's account without their approval. All the transfer steps would need to take place in order to complete a transfer of ownership through the Waves database.

If you have the license number I can try and track down the Waves Account to see who it is registered to, but if the seller can not provide this I would make sure you get your money back as this license would not be updateable without being the registered owner."

Surely there must be a number associated with the iLok license?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-08-2014, 09:20 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Quote from Gilad Keren, CEO of Waves:

"Sometimes we as a company make mistakes, sometimes our staff makes mistakes. If you feel you've been hurt in any way or if you have any suggestions for improvement, we would like to hear about it.
We are committed to fair treatment of our customers and devote serious attention to every comment.

Please give us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and learn from them.

Sincerely,

Gilad Keren
Waves CEO"

Now, surely this is a mistake by Waves, well, partly Waves.

People should not be able to transfer ANY Waves license (iLok or not) without going through the Waves Transfer procedure. Surely. I see this as a huge over-site on Waves part.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:01 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,717
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Just a quick question


I am NOT trying to dismiss or belittle this claim but when you say Waves have the responsibility here, Didn't you buy an ilok with Waves V8 from someone who skipped the EULA of waves by not involving them and just sent you an ilok with Waves V8 on it? How are Waves to blame here as they haven't "let you" tranfer anything if this was done the way you wrote!

If so, then how can Waves be at fault here. If the seller never tried to go thru Waves who would have said no, you have to do A!B!C in order to transfer the license so the fault would lay on the seller, If I am missunderstanding this I apologize and will repent but if it has never been thru Waves then how can they be at fault, someone sold an ilok and sent it to you without notifying Waves of the sale so Waves have no chance to stop the transfer as it has been illegal and done wrong.

If I am wrong please let me know as I am not trykng to stir the pot here, just asking about how Waves are at fault and that their policy is flawed? They have stated they need to register the license to the new owner and if you and the seller bypassed this, how are Waves to know and be blamed here?

We have 2 V8 iloks and if you need one of them I would be happy to help you and go thru the proper channels to get one of the iloks registered to you

Best of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:06 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

I was transferred the ilok license. No physical transfer was done. I'm in uk and he is USA. Waves are at fault because the ilok license should be "non transferable" from the ilok. Yes, I agree that sending a physical ilok with the license on it cannot be stopped. But being able to transfer the license from one persons ilok to another (mine) should not be allowed unless that person goes through Waves procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:13 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,717
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosco1969 View Post
I was transferred the ilok license. No physical transfer was done. I'm in uk and he is USA. Waves are at fault because the ilok license should be "non transferable" from the ilok. Yes, I agree that sending a physical ilok with the license on it cannot be stopped. But being able to transfer the license from one persons ilok to another (mine) should not be allowed unless that person goes through Waves procedure.
Got it! Then I am with you all the way in this issue

Let me know how it goes and if you need any help with our V8

Best of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:20 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

Thanks Christopher,

I have asked Waves support for contact details of the CEO and will take it up with him if need be.

I will not let this go. This is definitely a flaw with Waves. All I want is to be able to update my V8 to V9, that is all.

Christopher, I PM'd you mate.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-08-2014, 01:13 PM
Simon Morrison's Avatar
Simon Morrison Simon Morrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 82
Default Re: HELP! Waves V8

This wasn't a legitimate Waves license transfer.

Licenses must be V9 (or later), and covered by WUP to be eligible, and the transfer needs to be performed by Waves.

This information is clearly communicated on the Waves web site: http://www.waves.com/support/transfer-of-ownership

Ask for a refund!
__________________
…
Simon Morrison • Audio Architect • Mastering Engineer • Music Technologist
Pro Tools 12.8.3 (Native) | macOS 10.12.6
[ www.MorrisonStudios.com ]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep Loosing all Waves presets from Waves tool bar!! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-12-2010 02:59 PM
Not enough space on Waves only ilok to download Waves update 7 crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 38 11-09-2009 05:19 PM
Plugs Advice: Sony vs Waves - Sonalksis vs Waves? John J. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-08-2005 01:31 PM
WAVES Protools7 update and Waves tech support x9blade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-11-2005 06:24 PM
Your Favorite Vocal Plugs...Do You Use The Waves Ren. Vox or Waves RCL? Bloux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-27-2003 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com