Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2009, 05:23 AM
shaolin_kobudo shaolin_kobudo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools LE 8 Sample Rate question

Ok first of all apologies for the noob nature of this question. Hopefully you'll be able to pick apart the nonsense enough to know what I'm trying to ask

I've just tracked some songs at a studio at 24-bit/88.2 kHz. Now I'm wanting to a.) edit the files I tracked and b.) record new material at this sample rate / resolution. I'm looking to buy an MBox 2 Pro w/ Pro Tools LE 8, but first I need to know this will support recording and editing at 88.2 kHz.

The MBox 2 Pro says it has "24-bit A/D and D/A converters, supporting
sample rates of 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88.2 kHz and 96 kHz."

BUT then on page 10 of the setup guide pdf it says "Pro Tools LE on Windows provides the following capabilities with Mbox 2 Pro: ...16-bit or 24-bit audio resolution, at sample rates up to 48 kHz" (so i guess not 88.2 or 96 kHz)

So can I track and edit on Pro Tools LE 8 at 88.2 kHz, and if not, why does the MBox 2 Pro support 88.2kHz?

Many thanks in advance, I'm out of my depth but I hope you can get what I'm asking!!

Edd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2009, 09:56 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,903
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Sample Rate question

You are confusing sample rate(48K, 88.2K which is how many times per second the audio gets "looked at") and bit depth(16 bit, 24 bit, which is essentially the size of the window available to "look thru"). If that makes no sense, I suggest a google search for a better explanation. Mbox will not play any audio that is of a higher sample rate than 48K so you need to look at a different interface. Both the 002 and 003 families will run 88.2 or 96K sessions. You can import the audio into a lower sample rate session by using SRC(sample rate conversion), so you could finish a project with an Mbox(but at the lower sample rate). If you go that route, I would convert to 44.1 as the conversion is easier for the machine to do accurately(because of the 2:1 math).

BTW, since this is new stuff for you, read up on bit depth and dither. Your recordings will sound better if you record at 24 bit(more headroom), but you will need to use dither to make a 16 bit file for audio CD burning.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2009, 11:46 AM
Vegadark Vegadark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 509
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Sample Rate question

From what I can see on the product info page for the Mbox2 Pro, it says it supports samplerates up to 96k, but only supports to 48k with external sync.
__________________
DIGI002R, PTLE8.0.5, Windows XP, Asus K8V SE Deluxe, AMD64 3000+ 1.5GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3xxx AGP, dual 19 inch LCD screens
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2009, 11:55 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 Sample Rate question

More appropriately, the SOFTWARE might support 88.2 & 96k sample rates, but the HARDWARE won't in this case. But yes, you can downsample with SRC...when you create a new session on your MBOX, you can actually drag the files in from the OLD session and it will convert them for you.
FWIW, I do ALL my sessions at 44.1 'cause when they go to CD that's what they have to be anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample Rate question iamnightfall macOS 4 10-02-2013 02:37 PM
QUESTION About SAMPLE RATE oulablank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-22-2008 04:47 AM
sample rate question richsorr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-05-2005 05:17 PM
Sample rate question steelronkeel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-14-2004 09:00 AM
Sample Rate question PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-04-2003 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com