Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2020, 12:34 PM
Stephen Webster Stephen Webster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 109
Default Treat HDX as HD Native

So since additional voices for HDX users seems to be forgotten vapourware.

Wouldn't it be an interesting option if you could launch your HDX card without any DSP effectively treating the card as a native? As far as I understand the cards are identical just without dsp?

As Avid haven’t been able to deliver on the additional voices they may even grant an additional voice pack or two to make up for the sacrifice in dsp?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2020, 03:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,626
Default Re: Treat HDX as HD Native

Sounds like a great idea to me
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2020, 03:47 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,210
Default Re: Treat HDX as HD Native

Ever since they introduced Avid Audio Server mode, I thought we could do that. Read this:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...e-Audio-on-Mac

But every time I had some free time to try it, it never worked. If someone successfully does this, let me know! My guess is that you could inadvertently go into this mode with Dolby Audio Bridge and the Renderer and just run regular sessions without Atmos.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Me Treat My Room Please :) Becharax General Discussion 1 04-29-2013 07:29 AM
Yeah I've had Protool 8 for quite sometime now, and have discovered a little treat. jonslaten Tips & Tricks 2 04-06-2010 07:49 AM
How do you like to treat your room mic(s)? ixnys Tips & Tricks 0 10-17-2003 06:20 PM
How do you treat a bad singer? Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-29-2000 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com