Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2020, 11:10 AM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 33
Default Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

I'm using an Akai MPD218 to control XPand!2 and there seems to be just a few MS of delay between when I hit the pad and hear the sound. This is making it extremely difficult to record drum sounds accurately. I'm using a Focusrite 4i4 as my interface so output is routed there.



Is there anything I can do to minimize (or eliminate) this latency?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2020, 01:20 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,400
Default Re: Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

Reduse buffer size in playback engine. Options menu.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2020, 01:25 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,377
Default Re: Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

The latency is most likely coming from your interface Are you using the latest Focusrite software?
Like Ben said, if you are running a high buffer, try reducing it and see if it helps. For just MIDI, you can probably go pretty low.

Tell us a little more about your setup and we can try to get you going.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2020, 02:21 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 33
Default Re: Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

Quote:
The latency is most likely coming from your interface Are you using the latest Focusrite software?
Like Ben said, if you are running a high buffer, try reducing it and see if it helps. For just MIDI, you can probably go pretty low.

Tell us a little more about your setup and we can try to get you going.
I just bought the interface about 3 weeks ago and downloaded the software then so I assume it's the latest.



I'm trying to record Guitar, Bass, Drums (MIDI) and vocals.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2020, 02:30 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 33
Default Re: Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Reduse buffer size in playback engine. Options menu.

If you're referring to PT there's nothing in the Options menu for buffer size. I did find buffer in Setup->Hardware. It was at 512 and I changed it to 128 or 64. We'll see if that helps.


Or were you referring to the Focusrite software? (Or the Akai software for that matter)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2020, 04:16 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,956
Default Re: Latency using external controller to control XPand!2

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLG View Post
I did find buffer in Setup->Hardware. It was at 512 and I changed it to 128 or 64.
That's what Ben meant. If the computer will handle the 64 setting, that should feel fine. Another way to hear latency is with certain plugins. Some can add zero latency, but others can add hundreds or even thousands of samples of latency. The way to know what's going on is to hit the VIEW menu and put a check next to Mix Window Shows>Delay Compensation. That will add a row of boxes across the bottom of the MIX window and it will show 3 numbers. The bottom number is the crucial one as it shows the TOTAL latency caused(and compensated for) by plugins. Watch those numbers and keep them near zero while recording. Once you get to doing a mix, you can pile on the plugins and not worry(unless you decide you need to add a part late in the game).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get Xpand to work with iPad controller JeremyLotus macOS 0 12-09-2015 01:41 PM
How to control AIR Fuzz-Wah with external controller? lloydwatts60 Pro Tools 9 4 09-11-2011 10:25 AM
Xpand! controller (this might be a really stupid question) Michael P. Virtual Instruments 5 03-28-2008 11:50 AM
Can i save non defaut controller assignments for Xpand! The Dougfather MIDI 4 03-09-2008 07:52 PM
Use external Midi Controller to control aux send levels spacegnome Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-17-2007 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com