Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-02-2013, 12:57 PM

Default Mac Mini

Hi guys. First of all, if my post is in the wrong section of the forum, I apologize and hope someone can move this to the right section - I'd be much obliged.

I'm currently taking my first steps into film score/commercial media composition and have decided to move on to Pro Tools. Thus far, the Mac Mini seems to be the best choice for me, as I am a student with a limited budget. Plus, I already own a nice LED screen and the basic peripherals.

A lot of people are really negative about the Mac Mini and since I'm not very knowledgeable on how computers work I thought I'd ask for opinions. Do you think I could work comfortably on this particular computer? About the CPU - is it the GHz, the cores or the 'generation' (i5, i7)? Would 8GB of RAM be enough?

Also, does anybody have experience with the E-MU 0404? I'm guessing I'll have to replace that as well, AVID Fast Track Duo sounds like a reasonable upgrade.

Hope I'm not asking too many questions but I could really use some advice ATM. Thank you in advance!
Old 09-02-2013, 01:07 PM

Default Re: Mac Mini

I'm not a Mac guy, but generally speaking the bigger the project the more power needed....Mac or PC.

If you're going to be running large track counts with lots of plugs and/or VI's then the mini may not be up to the task.

I'm sure some Mac guys will chime in and give some advice. You're doing the right thing by seeking advice before diving in and buying so hang tight until you get the right advice.

Best of luck.

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)