Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:52 AM
shannon_jp shannon_jp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default Recording on System Drive?

Greetings,

Our friends over at Digidesign warn us in their product manual to, "Avoid Recording to the System Drive!" Fine. But after having to replace my main drive, I can't afford an additional, dedicated audio drive. Since they make sure to put that warning in big, fat, bold letters, I can only assume that something REAL BAD will happen if I ignore it. Are any of you out there doing this despite their admonishment and, if so, is it really as horrible as they would have us believe? My projects are not particularly intensive resource or space-wise.

Thanks a heap.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2006, 12:16 PM
wmmccoy wmmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 101
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Hi,
I don't know who would admit to using their system drive as their "data" drive. There is much more than meets the eye as far as what's going on under the hood. In addition to reading program file information, your paging file, on a single drive system exists on the system drive. Once you get a couple things going, the system drive gets awfully busy.

Even if your using relatively low sampling rates, there's a lot of I/O going on that has to be handled. Consequently, you DO run the risk of PT locking up, etc. and losing work you've already done, and that's always a bummer. So, in this case, Digidesign is saying, "if you're not using a separate drive for your data, don't call us."

If your stuff isn't complex and large, and doesn't contain a lot a automation and such, you can get a 40GB drive for literally next to nothing. Heck, for $110, you can get a 40GB USB2 drive from Seagate - so no having to tear in to your computer.

There may be others out there that are recording to their system drive, but I swear, I'm not being an alarmist when I say they're living on the edge.

HTH

M. McCoy
__________________
Digi002 LE 8.0
XP Pro SP3
Athlon 64 FX-53
K8V Deluxe
4GB Dual Channel
WD 80GB System
WD 300 production
2X300 RAID1 (for backup)
NVIDIA GForce4 Dual Head
UAD1 Plug-in card

-----------------------------------------------
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from a rigged demo.
-----------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:29 PM
shannon_jp shannon_jp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Thank you for that, WM. Unfortunately, in my corner of the universe, $110 is closer to next to impossible than it is "next to nothing". Would you say then that it would be smarter to hold off purchasing Mbox/PT until I can afford an additional drive, even if that's a ways down the road?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2006, 03:07 PM
zombie69 zombie69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pioneer, CA
Posts: 407
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

I would say use what you got until you can afford more. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. If it doesn't work you'll know why.
__________________
I wear the pants. (My wife picks them out)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2006, 04:14 PM
wmmccoy wmmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 101
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Quote:
I would say use what you got until you can afford more. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. If it doesn't work you'll know why.
I certainly agree if there no other solution. I too, am low on funding ay this point in my life.
If you have problems though, email me, I'm pretty sure I have a drive that I can spare; no problem.

Good luck,
M. McCoy
__________________
Digi002 LE 8.0
XP Pro SP3
Athlon 64 FX-53
K8V Deluxe
4GB Dual Channel
WD 80GB System
WD 300 production
2X300 RAID1 (for backup)
NVIDIA GForce4 Dual Head
UAD1 Plug-in card

-----------------------------------------------
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from a rigged demo.
-----------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2006, 05:26 PM
tenchijin2 tenchijin2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Ive been recording to my system drive for two years. I'll be getting another drive soon. However, I've had exactly ZERO problems related to that. In fact I've had ZERO problems running protools period on that computer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:54 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

I have seen computers that the system drive was used for recodeing and then there was a problem and the system folder got over writen. no more working computer w/o a drive wipe and reinstall
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:52 PM
Holly73 Holly73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ulm, Germany
Posts: 522
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Quote:
"

If your stuff isn't complex and large, and doesn't contain a lot a automation and such, you can get a 40GB drive for literally next to nothing. Heck, for $110, you can get a 40GB USB2 drive from Seagate - so no having to tear in to your computer.


M. McCoy
Hmmm, Digi also says USB drives are not recommended... go for an internal one or Firewire!
__________________
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, PT12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2006, 07:55 AM
shannon_jp shannon_jp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

I guess the bottom line is, work with what you've got and upgrade when you can. I appreciate all your thoughts on this. Mike M., that's a very generous offer. I may just take you up on that, but I'll exhaust all other avenues first. Meanwhile, I suppose I could revert to that ancient method of sitting at the acoustic piano with a pile of manuscript paper. But you get used to being able to hear things realized a bit and it's hard to go back. Still, there's always a way to keep moving.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:38 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Recording on System Drive?

Is it possible to achieve a limited amount of success with a single drive... yes.

However, not only should you be working towards a separate dedicated drive for best audio performance, (and this is recommended by ALL DAW software companies) you should also be planning for a multi drive setup for backing up your work.

ANY drive can fail at ANY time.
Accepting the fact that a dedicated drive is preferred for recording performance, gets you in the correct mindset that backup drives are equally... if not more important.

Whether that means an external enclosure that allows you to quickly interchange drives for your laptop, or removable drive racks for desktop.
Take my word for it, if you don't backup your data, it WILL bite you in the behind eventually.
It's just a matter of time.

So by all means, save up for that extra recording drive AND it's backup twin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should I use the Raptor Drive for? Recording?System? OR ircswh Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-28-2008 09:31 AM
recording to system drive vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-14-2006 05:09 AM
recording to system drive stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-20-2004 10:46 AM
Help please (excluding system drive for recording) smurphworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 8 03-09-2000 02:37 PM
Recording Audio in IDE system drive RMolina Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-20-2000 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com