Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2002, 03:08 PM
Johnbearorl Johnbearorl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Default Fades versus Automation

Okay I have a convention comming up and I'm doing the musical opening at the reception/cocktail party.

I have my session laid out how I like it, but I'm a newbie to fades and automation.

Would it be better to automate my fader movements to bring tracks in and out as well as for pans or draw fades? I'm a ACID Pro guy who is desperately trying to work in a PRO TOOLS environment since I know it's for the best.

Any advice greatly appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2002, 03:30 PM
Calebjess Calebjess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 8
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

One of the main reasons (IMHO) for doing audio in the digital world is so you can use the automation features provided in PT. Once you master the automation recording it is a breeze. Try the manual to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2002, 04:48 PM
Gabriel Roth Gabriel Roth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 167
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

Fades are useful when you need a very smooth fade, especially a gradual one, and for crossfades, when you want one audio file or region to blend into another one. For ordinary mixing purposes, e.g. to bring tracks up or down or in and out of the mix, use automation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2002, 07:00 AM
Johnbearorl Johnbearorl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

Thanks all for the advice. I took a dive into creating groups last night and started to use the automation feature. Much easier than I originaly thought it would be.

I think automation will serve most of my needs with this project.

It's mostly sound effects (halloween theme) with an 8 track music mix. I'm doing alot of panning and bringing items in and out so automation seems to do the trick.

The grouping feature was a HUGE plus. I got a good mix of the 8 music tracks then grouped them so I could place them just above the effects bed I created. Very cool.

FYI, it's very hard to get a heartbeat loop to match a steady 4 on the floor kik beat. Thank goodness for lightening crashes, cymbals, and fade outs!

Happy mixing to all!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2002, 08:18 AM
naireko naireko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 252
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

I think the main point of using fades versus automation is that it requires less dsp to use fades. I use fades when I can.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2002, 02:01 PM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

Automation does use DSP- the manual comments on this... from pg 299: "Each breakpoint takes up space in memory allocated for automation, so thinning data can allow you to maximize efficiency and CPU performance"

I believe the key is to do your automation in the edit window, drawing it in instead of using the faders- using faders will create 10 times (or more) more automation points than drawing the automation in-

Example- if you want a perfect equal speed fade on a track, in the edit window you would use 2 points- one at the beginning and one at the end. Do the same fade with the fader and you'll have tons of points.

There's a preference for "thinning automation" to control this, another indicator that automation does bog the system down. But by using the edit window, you should have no problem.

Those of us who never really worked with consoles don't have a problem with this method and it makes PT's automation killer. Those who are migrating from automated consoles tend to hate PT's automation, it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2002, 01:25 AM
jeronimo jeronimo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Salvador, BA - Brazil
Posts: 668
Default Re: Fades versus Automation

I don't think automation uses DSP...
__________________
Think Diferente!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAF Issues, No fades and no automation. Bigciciauz Pro Tools 10 4 06-05-2018 09:12 PM
Four-point automation w/fades? bleen macOS 1 02-22-2014 06:47 PM
BIG BUG: 9.0.5 (Lion) No preview when dragging Automation, Fades and regions Franco1967 macOS 29 02-28-2013 06:42 PM
OMF from FCP not bringing all fades or automation Strider Post - Surround - Video 2 07-28-2006 03:20 PM
automation (fades) ignored on 1 trk only smlworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-18-2001 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com