Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-04-2006, 10:46 AM

Default Drag and copy clips

Hello....

I'm a new Pro Tools user migrating from years of Sonar usage. I have a simple problem. When I want to use the drag-n-drop method to copy clips, part of my original clip gets muted (or overwritten) when I overlap them... how do I work around this?
Old 01-04-2006, 01:19 PM

Default Re: Drag and copy clips

Stickler for terms...clips=regions I am assuming?

On a single track, only one region can receive voicing at a time. This is SOP for every DAW I have worked with...Sonar not being one of them tho. As such, overlap two regions, and the one on top is the one receiving the voice. I cannot imagine Sonar to be different...I am wrong tho?

If you have a region/clip that is XXXXXX and one YYYYYYY and you want YYYYYYY to start XXXYYYYYYY like that, but still have the entire XXXXXX play, you would to place each region/clip on seperate tracks.

If I got what you are trying to do wrong, further clarification, or a step-by-step scenario would help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Old 01-04-2006, 09:08 PM

Just a guess:
My first DAW program was Vegas. In that program, overlapping files are automatically crossfaded or mixed together on a track. Not so with Protools, where one 'overwrites' the other, and crossfades must be created and adjusted each time (as far as I can tell).

This is one of those (relatively few) places where I still find the non-Protools version more efficient and more intuitive.
Old 01-05-2006, 12:53 AM

Wow- had no idea. I never used Vegas...but PT will do just that