Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2011, 10:04 AM
msuk msuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Default Pt9.0.5 Help Please (Sandra Report Included)

Hi There,

I'm running PT-9.0.5 on my Win7 i5 laptop with a Steinberg Ci2+ usb interface.... And i've ran into a few problems.....any help would be
hugely appreciated.

I've already thoroughly searched the DUC for info, and i've optimized Win7, trashed prefs etc.

First off, i can't change the h/w buffer settings on the fly without having to restart PT. Is this normal?
And almost any changes i make to the Playback Engine require a restart or a crash, but mostly error messages (I've got a list of them at the
end of my post).

The real trouble started when i tried to open a session which i originally recorded a while back on my old Apple G5/Mbox2 in PT-7.4...
Pressing (play) doesn't work, play and stop buttons flash on the transport bar. I can sometimes solve this problem by closing and reopening PT.
Except the 7.4 sessions crash almost straight away, the audio 'jams' causing a 'brrrrrrr' type effect before coming to a halt, i then get >

"You are running out of CPU power. Elastic Audio processing could not keep up... (-9403)"
^After this error it behaves as before, play and stop buttons flash on the transport (wont play).
My CPU (RTAS) monitor shows 5-7% when this happens, i've only got 4 instrument tracks with a buffer size of 1024.

I'm worried all my 7.4 sessions will be like this, the i/o settings are unpredictable and i've had to try and fix them a few times.

Switching back and forth between old and new sessions causes similar behaviour too....If i run a v9 session, then i load another v9 session
it works fine. But if i open a 7.4 session (which crashes), then open a v9 (these problems begin to happen to v9 projects)
flashing play/stop buttons on transport again, wont play.

To get my v9 projects to work, i have to first open the session i want to work on, which never works first time after running a 7.4 session.
I then have to close and reopen PT to get my sessions to work. V9 sessions then seem to be ok.

I also noticed that "Timeline Data Online Status & Session Data Online Status (are lit up Red) in old PT7.4 projects only" ??

Here are some of the situations i've came across:

1) (Dae cant get audio from the drives fast enough.
Your drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to the extra firewire bandwidth or cpu load

(-9073)

2) I then tried changing number of processors from 4 to 2, ("Pro Tools is unable to reacquire the hardware because it is in use by another
application. Please quit other applications and hit "OK" to retry. If the hardware cannot be acquired, please quit and relaunch Pro Tools")

3) (Pro Tools could not initialize the Yamaha Steinberg USB ASIO. Please make sure that the device has been configured correctly)

4) Tried Disabling a plugin with control + windows key command > (Access violation occured, unable to read location: 0x00000004)

5) (Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library) Runtime error! C:\Program Files (x86)\Digidesign\ProTools\ProTools.exe - R6025 - pure virtual

function call

Here is a snapshot of my Playback Engine:

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/d...tyheed/PEn.jpg


Regards,

msuk

________________________________________________

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Acer Aspire 5750
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Mark-PC
User : Mark

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz
Speed : 2.9GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Acer JE50_HR
BIOS : Acer V1.05 02/11/2011
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 5.86GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Acer Core (Sandy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 100MHz
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 130MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 667MHz (1.33GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Nanya NT2GC64B88B0NS-CG 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Nanya NT4GC64B8HB0NS-CG 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12 SM4.1 650MHz, 128MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12 SM4.1 650MHz, 128MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12SP 650MHz, 128MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000BPVT-22HXZT1 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (I:)
SanDisk Cruzer Blade (16GB, USB2) : 15GB (F:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT34N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
SEAGATE 500 (I:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Removable Drive (F:) : 15GB (FAT32) @ SanDisk Cruzer Blade (16GB, USB2)
Hard Disk (C:) : 195GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BPVT-22HXZT1 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Backups (D:) : 270GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BPVT-22HXZT1 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT34N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Acer HM65 LPC Controller
Audio Device : Acer Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Acer Cougar Point Mobile 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Acer NetXtreme BCM57765 Memory Card Reader
USB Controller 1 : Acer Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Acer Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : Acer Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Peripherals
Media Player : SanDisk Cruzer Blade (14.9GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network Adapter

Power Management
Power Supply No 1 : OEM_Define2 OEM_Define1 Regulator 75.000W

Power Management
Battery No 1 : -Virtual Battery 0- CRB Battery 0

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.4

Last edited by msuk; 09-24-2011 at 10:07 AM. Reason: Line Spacing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2011, 03:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,174
Default Re: Pt9.0.5 Help Please (Sandra Report Included)

Is this a laptop or desktop? If its a desktop, you could try installing a modest graphics card and disabling the integrated graphics(which is often a "show stopper" for Pro Tools). Next, don't be recording to either C: or D: as that is a 5400 rpm drive(record to the 7200 rpm USB2 drive if you can't install a separate recording drive). Disable wifi and networking when running PT. I would UNcheck the box for ignoring errors. Until you get some success, I would also tell Windows to use the onboard audio so Pro Tools is the only program that grabs the interface(at least for now). On any session that will open, make sure Elastic Audio is NOT turned on for any tracks(again, until you start having better results). On sessions that crash upon opening, try holding the SHIFT key while you open(which will disable all plugins). If the session opens and plays, I would activate plugins one at a time, save, close and reopen. That will help to point out any possible plugin issues(when I went to PT9, any session with AutoTune 3 in it would crash, so I had to update that plugin). That's enough to confuse you with for now
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2011, 08:48 AM
msuk msuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pt9.0.5 Help Please (Sandra Report Included)

Thanks mate, i narrowed it down to BFD2.
The minute i switch it on i get an access violation error, i'll update BFD and see how that goes.

As for not being able to change the h/w buffer size without having to restart PT, is this the case for all asio interfaces??

And i still have to load sessions twice to get playback, on the first load i'm still getting the Play/Stop buttons flash on transport bar.

Regards,

M

Last edited by msuk; 09-25-2011 at 09:39 AM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this cpu compatible with Pro Tools 9 ? Sandra Report included bobbybland Windows 9 09-04-2011 10:32 AM
Three problems since 8.0.4 - Sandra report included. David Sabine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-22-2010 10:44 AM
Need Help Debugging PC - SANDRA Report Included EarBud 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-23-2010 07:09 PM
I need a system evaluation ...Sandra report included Kempo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-13-2010 12:51 PM
9073 errors - sandra report included. djgizmo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-03-2010 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com