Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:47 PM
Lishinsky Lishinsky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default enough

Hello every body
This massage may be aggravating for some people, especially those who just spent there top dollars on a new HD systems, as well as some people from digidesign.
Guys!!! How many times did we ( Pro tools LE users ) consider upgrading our systems to HD ????...... im sure that every one of us thought about it at some point. Yet we don’t want to spend over $10,000 on a system that functions basically the same way as any host based system in the market.
Yes the HD is a very good system, no doubt, but what it can really offer???? …… DSP power??? …. I have enough of it in my G5 dual, Thank you.
Next, Good converters????? ….. well what if I need only 2 good converters???
What if I don’t need good converters at all??? Ahh??
So what do we really need from the HD system??? Of course the amount of tracks.
Don’t you find it ridicules that every chip audio system in the market offers unlimited amount of tracks, except pro tools LE of course.
As you can imagine the reason for that is only commercial. if the LE systems will offer lets say 64 tracks The HD system will lose it’s attraction almost completely,.
The only reason why the amount of track on pro tools LE is limited to 32 is because digidesign still want to make money on the big sister HD, witch is over priced and based on a dated concept.
I think that this is an unfair and a dirty way of marketing. digidesign abuses it’s own loyal customers both of the LE and the HD and trying to insult our intelligence.
i don’t have extra money to spend and I’m not stupid enough to think that the HD justifies its price, but the software is irreplaceable ( professionals will understand ) .
so why cant I get something so elementary like more track??????????????
Ohh, yee digidesign will not be able to sell the HD so they hold the extra track as prisoners and who ever is willing to pay the ransom that they asking can enjoy the full capacity of his computer!!
Does any body feels the same way about this scam???
Does any body have any idea of what can we do to stop this ??????
Digidesign!!!! You know your trying to sell a system that is no longer attractive, because if you did you would offer more tracks on the LE systems and let us decide what is better!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:10 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: enough

It's all relative back in the 1980's a NED Synclavier would have cost you $500 K then you neede a console to go with it.
If you charge a client $800.00 per day a $10K HD system is pretty cheap. There are alternatives that offer more tracks than LE like Logic and Digital Performer. Also if you look at tech support and programming and many other costs it makes sense to charge for it that's how a comany stays in business. Why does Manley charge $4000.00 to make a stereo compressor, because tha's what they need to charge to stay in business. Digidesign has pretty good support, telephone, email, DUC, regular software updates.
It all costs money so they need to charge for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:14 AM
ren ren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: enough

Stop whining. Go and use something else. What a rubbish post.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:23 AM
Lishinsky Lishinsky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: enough

Rubbish??
you already spend your money you must think this way!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:29 AM
Lishinsky Lishinsky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: enough

this is not the poit!!!
let them charge as much as they like for the HD, just give me the tracks i deserve.
if they really beleaved in the HD they would do that.
i have logic too it's good for what it's good for.
and the rest is not good for anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:34 AM
Stuart P. Stuart P. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA USA
Posts: 841
Default Re: enough

Quote:
this is not the poit!!!
let them charge as much as they like for the HD, just give me the tracks i deserve.
if they really beleaved in the HD they would do that.
i have logic too it's good for what it's good for.
and the rest is not good for anything.
You're right, the poit is that you should use another system. They might be gooder for what they're gooder for too.

S.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:40 AM
Lishinsky Lishinsky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: enough

my english is not so good but i know very well where to put my money and witch software to use for what!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:55 AM
Fader Invader Fader Invader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 111
Default Re: enough

lol
__________________
Dual 1.8 G5 (1st Gen) 10.3.4
4 GB RAM
2 x Glyph GT050
Pro Tools 6.4 cs9
HD 1 & 96 i/o
Waves Gold
867 Powerbook
Pro Tools 6.4 & MBox 10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:00 AM
Lishinsky Lishinsky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default Re: enough

good for you ! would you like to share it with us??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:03 AM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: enough

Go get logic, and then get out of our sight! Oh, yes, and congratulations to all the power in your G5! Now YOU don't need a HD-rig! Good luck!

See ya!

Tubz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com