Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2016, 08:17 PM
wedgewedge wedgewedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Default Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Hello,

I know this subject has been covered a bunch, but I can't seem to figure out what's going on.

I have an Apollo DUO and PT 10. So I went from my Apollo 3-4 outputs to my Kush Clariphonic inputs. Then from the Kush outputs to the Apollo 3-4 inputs. I went to the I/O section in Pro Tools, moved then inserts over just like I've read you're supposed to. Then I only get sound out of the left channel. I switched the cables around, to make sure it wasn't the cables or the Kush.

I'm pretty darn new at this sort of thing, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you!
__________________
Mac Pro 3.2 Ghz Quad, OS 10.13.3, 48 G RAM, UA Apollo Duo, PT 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2016, 10:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Everything you need to debug this problem should be in front of you. Swap the cables, swap input on the outboard gear? Does the working channel move?

We cannot guess what you are doing in your Inserts setup. Why not post a screen shot. Is your insert set up for stereo? And you have a stereo track or two mono tracks? Screen shots of the mix window showing the track(s) and IO assignments for them will help.

Start here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNZDXOl0vKs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2016, 07:16 PM
wedgewedge wedgewedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Here's a screenshot. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 9.13.42 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	5939  
__________________
Mac Pro 3.2 Ghz Quad, OS 10.13.3, 48 G RAM, UA Apollo Duo, PT 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2016, 09:52 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

So what happened when you swapped cables/connections. This will not be a hard thing to debug. Just play around systematically testing stuff. What happens when you just jumper the pair of outs to the ins with a pair of cables? You are using four straight through/standard TRS to TRS balanced cables right?

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-27-2016 at 10:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2016, 11:16 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,234
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You are using four straight through/standard TRS to TRS balanced cables right?
exactly what I think the problem would be.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2016, 06:18 AM
wedgewedge wedgewedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

I did do some cable switching and I got the right channel to work, but just not L/R together. Maybe something is wrong with my Apollo? That would be... just great.

I'm using XLR to TRS actually. I'll give the TRS to TRS a shot when I get home from work tonight, as well as try different inputs on the Apollo. Fingers crossed. Thank you!
__________________
Mac Pro 3.2 Ghz Quad, OS 10.13.3, 48 G RAM, UA Apollo Duo, PT 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2016, 09:40 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedgewedge View Post
I did do some cable switching and I got the right channel to work, but just not L/R together. Maybe something is wrong with my Apollo? That would be... just great.

I'm using XLR to TRS actually. I'll give the TRS to TRS a shot when I get home from work tonight, as well as try different inputs on the Apollo. Fingers crossed. Thank you!
If you switched cables and the working channel followed the cable then it is the cable(s), if you crossed input or output IO channels in the Apollo then it is the Apollo or the outboard device, depending on what you swapped, trivial to debug/check with straight through cables and no outboard device.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2016, 04:52 PM
wedgewedge wedgewedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Well, it appears that input 4 on my Apollo isn't working properly. Switched everything over to tracks 5-6 (using the XLR-TRS cables) and it seems to work just fine now. Now I get to figure out the latency issue. Well, if I ever decide to put my outboard gear on anything other than my master bus.

Do you think it would be beneficial to use TRS-TRS cables instead of the XLR-TRS?

Thank you for your help, Darryl!
__________________
Mac Pro 3.2 Ghz Quad, OS 10.13.3, 48 G RAM, UA Apollo Duo, PT 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2016, 10:30 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

The obvious benefit of using TRS cables is you can run one cable them direct back to the Apollo to check things are working.

Hopefully you are not going into the Mic inputs with an XLR cable.

The other thing to do with an Apollo is make sure you do not have your UAD console routing/config messed up. You can also go there and check the analog levels going back into whatever interface input you are using and see if that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-29-2016, 06:12 AM
wedgewedge wedgewedge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Default Re: Setting up outboard gear with Apollo DUO, only left channel working

Ah, yes. That makes sense. And no, I am going into the insert section. I'll check out Console. Thanks a bunch!
__________________
Mac Pro 3.2 Ghz Quad, OS 10.13.3, 48 G RAM, UA Apollo Duo, PT 12.8.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Outboard with PT11 and UAD Apollo Console 2 Monk Pro Tools 11 11 04-03-2015 07:24 AM
Left channel click track bleeding into right channel lokimojo Pro Tools Software (Mac) 5 08-30-2014 12:44 AM
Strange CoreAudio issue - right channel information getting into left channel -JK- Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 09:42 AM
where to put outboard gear wayner ICON & C|24 0 09-15-2005 07:19 PM
considering selling SSL 5000 channel strips for outboard gear georgia General Discussion 4 02-25-2003 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com