Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 09:51 PM
drjordan drjordan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oxford, GA
Posts: 8
Default Using M-Audio Fast Track 8R with Pro Tools 8 LE

I have an Eleven Rack that came with Pro Tools 8 LE. I want to buy an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R. I found one used, but it comes with Live Lite 7. Will this Fast Track Ultra 8R work with my version of Pro Tools? Also will I be able to record into Pro Tools with the 8R and the Eleven rack at the same time?

Thanks for any help.

Jordan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2012, 10:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Using M-Audio Fast Track 8R with Pro Tools 8 LE

Quote:
Originally Posted by drjordan View Post
I have an Eleven Rack that came with Pro Tools 8 LE. I want to buy an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R. I found one used, but it comes with Live Lite 7. Will this Fast Track Ultra 8R work with my version of Pro Tools? Also will I be able to record into Pro Tools with the 8R and the Eleven rack at the same time?

Thanks for any help.

Jordan
Nope. Pro Tools "LE" requires a Digidesign not M-audio interface.

Get yourself a cross grade to Pro Tools 10 and avoid the device dependency all together.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:08 AM
drjordan drjordan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oxford, GA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Using M-Audio Fast Track 8R with Pro Tools 8 LE

In that case, is there any reason that I shouldn't just buy another Eleven Rack? Sweetwater has them for $699 now. It appears that they now come with the full version of Pro Tools 10. The cross grade plus an iLok will cost $450; I could have the software plus another Eleven Rack for an extra $250. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:20 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Using M-Audio Fast Track 8R with Pro Tools 8 LE

Quote:
Originally Posted by drjordan View Post
In that case, is there any reason that I shouldn't just buy another Eleven Rack? Sweetwater has them for $699 now. It appears that they now come with the full version of Pro Tools 10. The cross grade plus an iLok will cost $450; I could have the software plus another Eleven Rack for an extra $250. Am I missing something?
That is absolutely a good idea. I've recommended it on DUC to others and am thinking of doing it myself.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-audio fast track pro and Lost box with Pro tools :/ v3odor Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-04-2013 05:11 AM
M-Audio Fast Track / M-Audio Venom in Pro Tools 10 leinad MIDI 1 09-16-2012 10:13 PM
Using M-Audio Fast Track Pro With Pro Tools HD???? hemiloco915 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 04-30-2009 10:11 AM
M-Audio Fast Track Pro and Pro Tools LE Pete Seizure General Discussion 1 02-27-2009 05:53 PM
Pro Tools & M-audio fast track vreynoldsv Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 12-19-2006 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com