Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2014, 09:41 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Macpro 1.1 PTHD11

My understanding is that you cannot install ProTools HD 11 on the Mac Pro 1.1 because it cannot do 64-bit.

There are some hacks out there that can fool the system into thinking it's a 64-bit capable computer. If I do this that, do you think I will be able to use ProTools HD 11 on my Mac Pro 1.1.

I have bought the processors, to turn my Mac Pro into an eight core machine. Do you think that this may make a difference?

There is also a hack, not sure if it's a same one above, that will enable you to run Mavericks on a Mac Pro 1.1.

From my research the processor upgrade will double the power of my Mac Pro. My current geek bench scores are 5569, this will take it to over 11,000.

So between the two, do you think I will be able to successfully run ProTools 11 HD on my computer.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2014, 11:54 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Macpro 1.1 PTHD11

HD soft or with HDX cards?
soft might work
HDX cards you may run into the Firmware update not working and bricking the card(s)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2014, 01:45 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Macpro 1.1 PTHD11

Hi Barry, I'm running a fairly stock 2 x 2.66 Dual Core Mac Pro 1,1. OSX 10.7.5, PTHD 11.0.1 (software only as TDM cards won't work), co-installed with PTHD 10.3.8.
Can work in 10HD with cards, then go bouncy in PT11HD (s/w only)...
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2014, 03:35 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Macpro 1.1 PTHD11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buccanears View Post
Hi Barry, I'm running a fairly stock 2 x 2.66 Dual Core Mac Pro 1,1. OSX 10.7.5, PTHD 11.0.1 (software only as TDM cards won't work), co-installed with PTHD 10.3.8.
Can work in 10HD with cards, then go bouncy in PT11HD (s/w only)...
When I tried to install PTHD 11 on my computer, it wouldn't let me. Did you have any issues? I thought it was due to the computer not working in 64 bit.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2014, 08:41 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: Macpro 1.1 PTHD11

Are you trying 11.0.1? Are you on OSX 10.7.5 combo?
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid please help pthd11 & heat ilulilu888 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 28 02-04-2014 11:10 AM
Ran PTHD11 without hardware, now PT won't see HDNatve Tim R. Pro Tools 11 3 12-09-2013 08:35 PM
Digitest PTHD11 undergroundcubby Pro Tools 11 4 06-30-2013 06:52 PM
HD Accel under CoreAudio in PTHD11? DUCHUNTER Pro Tools 11 17 06-28-2013 07:50 AM
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com