Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2015, 05:40 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Space convolution impulses

I am interested in buying Avid's space because it is AAX (I am not getting Altiverb because it is not DSP otherwise I could get Altiverb). For Space I am looking for a large number of impulses specifically for: forest, country, street, lake, etc. really 'realistic outdoor impulses'. I am using this exclusively for post not for music. Are these outdoor impulses available either form Space or another library that I could use in the space plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2015, 08:05 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

I haven't tested this myself but heard very good things about it:
http://www.boomlibrary.com/boomlibra...ulse-responses
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2015, 11:23 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Thank you, I will look into the boom library
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2015, 04:55 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 653
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

+1 for the Boom Library Impulses.
There are other good free ones out there on the web, just do a search.
Or you can make your own from gunshots or fireworks etc.

Personally I tried Space for post for the same reason that it is DSP.
I liked it, its flexible and it sounds good, but is sadly lacking in ease of automation. I would try the demo and make sure it can do what you need first.
I also found it has quite a hit on the host cpu, even though it runs on HDX.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2015, 07:03 AM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 518
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
but is sadly lacking in ease of automation.
They seem to tout their snapshot automation for Space. What is it that's lacking exactly?

"In addition to presets that save both the IR waveform and control settings, Space also enables you to manage a group of settings called snapshots, which you can quickly switch between using a single, automatable control—very useful in audio post production for firing different reverbs at scene changes."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2015, 07:42 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
+1 for the Boom Library Impulses.
There are other good free ones out there on the web, just do a search.
Or you can make your own from gunshots or fireworks etc.

Personally I tried Space for post for the same reason that it is DSP.
I liked it, its flexible and it sounds good, but is sadly lacking in ease of automation. I would try the demo and make sure it can do what you need first.
I also found it has quite a hit on the host cpu, even though it runs on HDX.

Interesting that it would hit the CPU hard being DSP, if that is how it works it may not be worth getting. Great heads up, thanks! I will TRY before I buy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2015, 03:39 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 653
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Quote:
They seem to tout their snapshot automation for Space. What is it that's lacking exactly?
It will do snapshot automation but there are a limited number of slots.
In a big feature you could easily run out of slots and then you're done, apart from using another Space.

Altiverb used to be the same until they allowed all the reverb parameters to be individually automated, getting around the limitation and allowing unlimited scene changes.

As for the cpu hit, I have no idea why. A bit of a shame with all those processors idling away on the HDX card.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2015, 04:13 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,235
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
It will do snapshot automation but there are a limited number of slots.
In a big feature you could easily run out of slots and then you're done, apart from using another Space.

Altiverb used to be the same until they allowed all the reverb parameters to be individually automated, getting around the limitation and allowing unlimited scene changes.

As for the cpu hit, I have no idea why. A bit of a shame with all those processors idling away on the HDX card.
Bad CPU load for something that is supposed to be DSP HDX + bad automation is a no go for me In that case Altiverb would be a much better choice.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2015, 07:43 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

avoid - and get exponential audio's reverbs
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2015, 08:20 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: Space convolution impulses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
avoid - and get exponential audio's reverbs
EA sounds good but it's a very different reverb. I have both but EA is not going to replace AV for many things, IMO.

Since PT11 AV's memory hunger is not an issue anymore. And since they got rid of those preset slots and automate all parameters the automation hickups have gone away entirely for me. However, I've seen many people still use the presets slots AND the parameter automation at the same time. This is where the problems start.
You should only use one OR the other. Here's a good explanation from Aram regarding this:

Quote:
Basically it comes down to this:
the automation preset contains all parameters
when you automate this, but also have all parameters in automation
both get written
when you then change a parameter a conflicting situation arises, the track automation is different from the setting in the automation preset. No one now knows what has priority.
This leads into confusing situations.

That's why I recommend:
do not use automation presets, simply recall you setting/preset and write all to track

If you want to use automation presets, the only enable this parameter for automation and disable all others.
Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 02-02-2015 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rolling your own impulses for TL Space TheLoneRoger Pro Tools 9 1 05-25-2011 09:25 AM
TL Space / cab impulses? ktwalker76 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-09-2011 09:12 AM
TL Space Impulses Missing guitar486 Pro Tools 9 26 12-01-2010 10:05 AM
Imported Logic 7.2 Impulses to TL Space! guitar012001 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-09-2006 12:52 PM
Impulses for convolution reverbs =GF= 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-23-2004 02:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com